The Sonia Show

Warning: This show contains nerdy humor, cartoon violence and foul language.

Random thoughts: TV, crawling and Happy Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, when I’m not watching San Francisco Giants baseball, I’m trying to watch the first season of “Homeland.”

Unfortunately for me, the second season has already started, which means I have to be vigilant in avoiding spoilers. Any magazine or website that mentions “Homeland” doesn’t get read, and any friends’ Facebook statuses that mentions “Homeland” gets skipped over. Anyone who talks about it in front of me watches me cover my ears and sing, “La la la. I am not listening to you, but you are still talking. I’m not listening to you!

Of course, if it does get spoiled for me, it’s my own fault. I was slow to get on the bandwagon.

I have been watching “The Mindy Project.” I think it’s pretty OK. It’s doesn’t make me laugh like “Parks & Recreation,” which I am convinced is the funniest show on TV right now, but I do chuckle a few times when I watch it. I have a question about “The Mindy Project.” Mindy’s character is completely obsessed with romantic comedies, so wouldn’t she know that her coworker that she doesn’t really get along with is the man for her? That’s always true in romantic comedies. Sure, it’s usually not true in the real world. The man who is a jerk to you, he’s probably a jerk and doesn’t like  you.

So anyway, here are a few other things I’m watching: “The Simpsons,” “Bob’s Burgers,” “South Park,” “30 Rock,” “The Walking Dead” and movies on TCM. Mighty, mighty good man David loves old haunted house movies, so we’ve been recording a lot of movies off TCM lately.

Let’s see, what else can I tell you?

Oh, I can’t stop shopping at ModCloth.com. It’s turning into a problem.

I’m all about drinking Anchor Porter these days. It might turn into a problem, but I will never admit that.

The Spawn is a crawling machine. He is getting really fast, and we still haven’t really baby proofed. The only baby proofing we have done is putting a baby gate up that keeps The Boy away from David’s massive collection of board games, and we moved Homer’s food bowl to a less high-traffic area. Homer’s food and water bowl was an obsession for Calvin. He would immediately crawl to it the first chance he got, and then Homer would immediately run over there and slam his face in the bowl, like he’s teaching Calvin what to do. “You eat the kibble like this …” With the bowls moved, The Spawn can now focus all his attention on crawling after Homer all over the house. Lucky Homer.

Oh, and continuing to remind me why I refer to him as my mighty, mighty good man, David got me a Happy Breast Cancer Awareness Month gift. David is the best husband ever!

Author: Sonia Mansfield

I'm a writer/mocker/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, talk smack, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers