The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Help wanted

5 Comments

Yeah, so, mighty, mighty good man David is looking for a new job.

It’s a familiar story: Boy works for company. Company gets bought by a bigger company. Bigger company lays people off. The end.

He was laid off last week from his job as a community and social media director for a visual effects software company, so if you know of any community/social media/marketing/content/podcasting/public relations jobs, you can find David on LinkedIn. I have no doubt that David will find an awesome new job. He is very good at what he does. On top of being an amazingly decent human being with a big heart, David is also super smart. He’s pretty easy on the eyes, too. If he doesn’t land a marketing job, he could go back to being a cage dancer.

We found out right before the holidays that the layoff was coming. Apparently, the bigger company has never seen “A Christmas Carol.” I’m not going to bad mouth the company. David has worked with some of those people for 13 years. There are a ton of awesome people who work there, and their software is crazy amazing, and it’s used in practically every movie. Layoffs happen. I get it. We all get it. I’ve been laid off countless times. (I started this blog back in 2003 after getting laid off from The Examiner – only to be rehired a few weeks later.) However, let me just say that David’s former employers are a London-based company, and I will be actively rooting against England in the Winter Olympics because of this. Also, I hope all their favorite BBC shows get canceled.

There. I said it.

Of course, David handled everything like a grownup with grace and dignity. I, on the other hand, would have behaved like an asshole, screamed a bunch of mean, childish things at people and possibly started a small fire. It’s a good thing one half of this couple can control themselves. David should list “acts like a responsible adult” as a skill on his LinkedIn with all his other useful skills. Seriously, if you are looking for someone for community/social media/public relations/marketing, you should hire this guy. He won’t be on the market for long.

Sadly, this lay off doesn’t just affect us. Since David is not working, we really don’t need to send the Spawn to our nannyshare anymore. Calvin will be going to David Day Care starting at the end of the month, and then preschool part-time starting mid-February, which means our wonderful, amazing nanny, Yolanda, is back on the market at the end of the month.

Calvin has been going to Yolanda for two years. I can’t believe it’s been two years. In those two years, Yolanda has taken such amazing care of my boy. She takes him to the park, the zoo, the library. They go for long walks. My boy speaks English and Spanish. Her advice has been so helpful to this new, clueless mom. I am so grateful to her. It breaks my heart to end our nannyshare situation, but the truth is it’s time for Calvin to start preschool anyway. This was going to happen soon, lay off or not.

SO, you guys, if you are looking for a nanny, I’ve got one for you! Email me, and I will pass along Yolanda’s resume, and I’ll give her the most heartfelt recommendation.

This entire blog post is basically just one big job seeker ad, isn’t it? Here … let me make it up to you with photos of The Boy’s new haircut.

funnyface

He’s really into making funny faces right now.

newhaircut

Watching “Yo Gabba Gabba” is serious business.

newhair2

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, talk smack, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

5 thoughts on “Help wanted

  1. That first picture — Tom’s words, three words “THE ARCHITECT SKETCH”

  2. Calvin is beautiful! I love your blog. I have written to you before (like, a year or two ago)but you didn’t respond. I am a writer on the east coast and my name is Sonia too. I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blogs.

    Best Wishes and Good Luck to David on finding a new career path. Doors will open for him. Many Doors. All good stuff for you guys.

    Cheers,

    Sonia.

    • Hi Sonia! I remember your email. I’m so sorry I didn’t write back you. That’s very unlike me, I swear.

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I have no doubt that David will get an amazing new job, and I will be horribly jealous and then I will start looking for a new job. Ha ha!

  3. Pingback: The week in review: iPhones, football and luggage | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,036 other followers