The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Moving Day, Whiskey Room and Getting Lost in Golden Gate Park

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, it was a bit of a boozy weekend.

Friday night, I went over to Tiff’s place in the Inner Richmond to help her prepare for the big move the following day. Turned out Tiff had pretty much finished everything, so we went to Q for dinner. Tasty, comfort food. I got the meat loaf and a couple glasses of wine. Eventually, we went back to her and Dan’s place and I had another glass of wine. Needless to say, I walked home.

Saturday morning was moving day. The Ladies plus Dan helped Tiff move all her stuff. Unfortunately, Dan tweaked his back after moving a few of the bigger pieces. Coincidentally, when Tiff originally moved into that place a year ago, I hurt my back after moving ONE THING. So, I’ve been in Dan’s place. It’s frustrating. You want to help, but you can’t. After his injury he was tasked with getting Pacificos and limes.

So, I think Tiff might be the last person I have to move for a while. I moved. D moved. Kate moved. Nicole moved (although I didn’t help with that … but I would have if she asked, of course!). I don’t see anyone else moving anytime soon. Possibly Micaela and Aaron. They are looking at houses. Eh, I don’t mind helping people move. It’s good exercise and I always get pizza and beer afterwards. What’s not to like about that?

After the move, Karen invited me to check out a CNet-er’s band at the Makeout Room with her and Nicole. Of course, my gut instinct is usually to say no to such offers, because I’m lazy and being social requires effort and work, which is why I said yes. I’m all about going out and socializing and meeting new people these days. The band, New Maps of the West, was quite good. I really should see more live music. I’m here in SF where I can see live music any night of the week for next to nothing.

Here’s a nice shot of Nicole, Karen and I giving the hand signal for WUT, which, of course, is pronounced “whhhhaatttt.” I’m not sure exactly how to describe WUT. All the ladies say it, but I’m not sure where it originated from. I think it came from Nicole. It’s similar to saying “word” … I think.

After the show, another CNet-er, Vinay, convinced Karen and I to go to Nihon sushi. It’s a sushi restaurant/whiskey bar. Vinay is a “member” of this restaurant, which means we didn’t have to wait for a table and got to sit in what can only be described as this sushi restaurant’s version of the champagne room. And no matter what the stripper says, there is no sex in the champagne room. I don’t think they allow sex in the whiskey room at Nihon either. Then again, I didn’t ask. I could be wrong. There was a lot of alcohol consumption in the whiskey room. Surprising, right? Who would’ve thought there would be drinking in the whiskey room? I had a good time and I met some cool people.

If I remember correctly, I think Vinay took a photo of my ass, which I suspect is on his Facebook page. Perhaps I should make it my new Facebook photo. Karen and I left at 1:45 a.m., but Vinay and company were still drinking. I heard they even went to another party after that! I’m too old for that much drinking and partying. I’m surprised I made it until 1:45.

Sunday, Rob and I headed out to Tiff’s belated b-day BBQ bash in Golden Gate Park. Weather wise, she got lucky. It was cold and shitty all weekend, but Sunday was beautiful. A great day for grilling and Corona drinking. In typical Sonia Show fashion, I got lost in the park. Luckily, Rob was with me, so I didn’t lose my cool. I get a little distraught when I get lost. You know, a little signage in Golden Gate Park wouldn’t hurt! So anyway, after driving around in circles for a little bit and almost running over several cyclists, I ended up parking a little farther from the party site than I should have, which meant that Rob (so kind and generous and such a good sport) ended up pulling around this big ol’ heavy ice chest while I carried a massive bowl of fruit salad (yeah, that’s right, I made fruit salad for the party. Turned out pretty good, too) from meadow to meadow, searching for Tiff’s party.

The party was a blast. There was a really good turnout. It was sunny, but not too hot. People were eating and drinking, playing croquet and Frisbee. I stuck to the eating and drinking. Around 5:30 p.m., the fog rolled in, so a bunch of us went to Magnolia, which is an excellent brew pub right next to my place. The restaurant recently remodeled and changed up their menu, so I was more than happy to check it out.

Today, Karen, Jason, Kate (back from Washington, D.C., yay!) and I checked out “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. It’s not  good, nowhere near as good as “Raiders of the Lost Ark,” which is one of my all-time favorite movies and masterpiece. In fact, “Crystal Skull” is the weak, super weak. I think it might have been a long Scientology commercial. Did you guys see it? What did you think?

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

