The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Drain free

4 Comments

Yeah, so, I’m free at last! Free at last!

Yep, the nurse took out the dreaded drains today. Such a relief. I can’t explain how uncomfortable they are. Imagine long tubes in your body and sticking out your armpit … every time you move they kinda pull on something. No matter how you sit or lay down, it’s never comfortable. Also, as long as you have the drains you can’t shower, so not only are you uncomfortable, but you smell.

After the mastectomy, I had drains for three weeks. It was hell. This time, I only had them for four days. I still need to rest and recover. Sadly, this means no Wondercon for me. I really want to go and mingle with my fellow nerds. Oh well, my Han Solo T-shirt and I can go next year.

So, while I have been recovering on couch, I have been watching a lot of TV.

Yesterday, I watched the first three episodes of “Justified” on FX. Love it! I don’t know if there are many actors who can pull off wearing a cowboy hat, but Timothy Olyphant is one of them. He wears the shit out of that hat. He’s basically playing the same role he played in “Deadwood,” and that’s OK with me. Look at him … he’s kinda dreamy, yes?

Speaking of dreamy, mighty, mighty dreamy man David and I watched most of “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington” (love!) and two Marx Brothers’ movies, “A Night at the Opera” and “Duck Soup.” Sadly, it hurts when I laugh, so every chuckle came with an “ouch.”

We’ve got a few more Marx Brother movies on the DVR as well as “To Have and Have Not,” which I haven’t seen in a very long time and, surprisingly, David has never seen. We’ve also got “An Education” and “Where the Wild Things Are” on Netflix.

My sister came out on Wednesday, and we had a laugh-riot double feature of “Precious” and “Doubt.” I can get a little down when I’m stuck on Recovery Island. I think this was Michelle’s way of showing me it could be worse.

I should be up and around by Monday, but I have to spend this weekend laying around on the couch. Poor me, right?

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

4 thoughts on “Drain free

  1. I’m so happy that you’re recovering and you got the drains out so quickly. It sounds like they’re very annoying. Still, I can’t help but think, from your description, that it sounds kind of like having a penis.

  2. Dad and I like Justified also!!!!! Glad to see the drains go…..Speedy recovery….

  3. haha — my husband totally made fun of me for watching Justified but Timothy Olyphant is HOT I have drooled over him ever since the GO days. If you haven’t seen the Crazies yet, he plays a hotty sheriff in that too. Gah, I sound like a teenager… 😦

  4. Timothy Olyphant in “Go” is smokin’ hot!

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

