The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

My left boob

5 Comments

Yeah, so, three surgeries in seven months.

I have gone under the knife three times in the past seven months: a lumpectomy, a mastectomy and a reconstruction. Basically, for the past seven months a lot of people have been looking at, poking, cutting into, ultra sounding, MRI-ing, carefully considering and talking about my boobs. Well, my left boob, specifically.

During this third surgery, the nurses in the surgical unit recognized me and David.

Nurse: “Weren’t you here a month ago?”

David: “No, it was back in October.”

Nurse: “Time flies.”

Me: “Yep, time flies when your fighting breast cancer.”

I am so glad that this most recent surgery is the last surgery. I’m still sore. I can’t wave my left arm in the air. I really can’t wave it like I just don’t care. Still, I already can tell that, once it is healed, I am going to be way more comfortable. I don’t have one ginormous boob that’s hard as a rock, and I don’t have to put in a silicone insert on the healthy side of the my bra to balance it out. My tops and dresses already fit better.

Even though this is my last surgery (fingers crossed), it doesn’t mean I won’t be going to Kaiser more than I would like. The doctors will be monitoring me closely.

I’m pretty excited about the new boob. I know my friends and family are curious about it. It is probably taking all their strength not to stare (“Eyes up here, Mom”) or just reach out and cop a feel. I must say, it feels pretty natural. David says, “It feels like victory.”

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

5 thoughts on “My left boob

  1. my aunt had the reconstruction after her mastectomy and she said that was even worse! Wish you a speedy recovery – we’re doing the Komen Run next week! Cheers! 🙂

  2. Bless your heart. Glad all that is behind you. Feel better soon.

  3. GOOOOOOOOO Boob!

  4. Pingback: Return of the wheel pose | The Sonia Show

  5. Pingback: How can you tell if someone is a vegan? They write a blog post about it. | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

