The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

One year ago …

9 Comments

Yeah, so, I love to play this game with myself in which I try to remember where I was a year ago. Luckily, I write a blog so I can easily look it up.

A lot has changed in a year …

A year ago, David and I spent an amazing day at Ocean Beach. I consider that day as one of the happiest of my life. I still smile when I think about it. It seemed so carefree, and we were so happy.

A year ago, David bought me a claddagh ring from Ireland. From that day on, I pretty much moved into his apartment in Burlingame while we started apartment hunting. We didn’t want to be apart anymore.

A year ago, I had no idea that I had breast cancer. My biggest worry was the fact that I was concerned that I wasn’t fitting in at my new job.

Today, I just got back from an awesome Ethiopian lunch with my two good office buddies, Jennifer and Paul. I’m certainly not worried about fitting in.

Not only did I learn that I had breast cancer a few months after that day at the beach, but I beat it. I lost my left knocker in the process, but really it’s a small price to pay if you think of the alternative.

Today, I still wear that claddagh ring, but on my other hand I wear an engagement ring, and I’m a mere 15 days away from our wedding day. People keep asking me if I’m nervous. I am not nervous at all. I am counting the seconds until I marry my mighty, mighty good man.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

9 thoughts on “One year ago …

  1. YOU MAKE ME SO HAPPY I COULD CRY. YOUR STORY OF HOW YOU MET AND EVERYTHING SINCE IS JUST THE BEST! WISHING YOU AND DAVID ALL THE BEST LIFE HAS TO OFFER. COULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT THE BREAST CANCER THING, BUT I AM GLAD THAT IT IS ALL BEHIND YOU. LOVE MOM

  2. you made me cry on my birthday! Great entry today, we all need to appreciate what we have! I am so happy for you!

  3. Wow, one year already. You fought cancer, and Sonia won. That’s awesome. You have always been a fighter and I never had a doubt.

  4. Thanks, Master P. It is so crazy to think what can happen in a year.

  5. You’re engaged? Who’s David. Would someone please tell me just what the hell is going on?!

  6. Wow what an incredible year you have had.

  7. Hello Sonia,
    not sure if you remember me, i work at TIMEC (Karina- worked with Bonnie) and Celeste was telling me you are engaged!! Congrats! So glad you were able to catch a good man… there arent many of those out there!!
    Wish you the best Mrs. David! =)

  8. Of course I remember you, Karina. Thank you for the congrats!

    I hope all is well at Timec. If you are working with Bonnie, then I’m sure you are lovin’ it. She’s awesome!

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

