The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Just married

12 Comments

Yeah, so, we’re married.

Thank you to everyone for coming out and celebrating with us! And, thank you to all the fine folks who offered their congrats and well wishes! David and I couldn’t be happier.

I don’t know what to write about the best day of my life.

Some basic details, perhaps? The wedding party, including David’s best man Colin, my sister Michelle, my nieces Lorelei, Olivia and Lucy, and, of course, Homer, walked down the aisle to The Beatles’ “All You Need Is Love.” My dad walked me down the aisle to “Don’t Stop Believing” by the Vitamin String Quartet. (I’m 39. I have one real boob. And I’m getting married. Don’t stop believing!) I was so incredibly nervous walking down that aisle. Not nervous about marrying David. Very nervous about 130 people looking at me.

Our officiant, David’s long-time best buddy Joe, was awesome. I think he should go into the marrying business. Everyone at the ceremony was impressed by Joe. He opened the ceremony with a dirty limerick. Once he did that, I knew everything was going to be OK.

Of course, David’s vows were amazing. Really amazing. There wasn’t a dry eye in the house. Of course, my vows were like, “David, I really like you. I like like you, like more than a friend.”

And after the “you may kiss the bride,” David and I walked out to “The Throne Room” music from “Star Wars,” because we are dorks. Duh.

Throughout the night, I was blown away by all the love and support. It’s overwhelming. And it was so great to meet so many members of David’s family for the first time. In all the pictures, I either have the biggest grin you’ve ever seen or my face is all contorted as I tried not to cry. It was the best night of my life, and it was exhausting. Now, I understand why people go on their honeymoons immediately after. I think we could both use a vacation right about now.

One more thing … the food was delicious! Mad props to Verdi Club, an excellent venue that also happens to do excellent catering. I’ve never heard so many people rave about a vegetable served at a wedding, but man oh man, people sure did love the broccolini. Of course, the eggplant parmesan and the garlic mashed potatoes was pretty tasty, too. Oh, and speaking of great food, the cakes from Baked were so damn good! Carrot cake, red devil cake or vanilla cake: You couldn’t pick wrong in my opinion.

David and I tried to get around to every table to visit, but we missed a few. We really tried! I like to think we connected with everyone at some point, though.

Speaking of tables, check out the super cool postcards MY HUSBAND drew for the occasion. We had them printed and placed on little easels as centerpieces. Yep, he’s hot and talented.

The reception didn’t want to end. There was nonstop dancing. The folks at the venue were pretty much shutting off the power and kicking us out after midnight. A few of us went to the bar across the street to grab a drink. Sure, David and I looked a little overdressed in a vintage-looking wedding dress and a 1930s tux, but, eh, what can you do? We walked into the bar and someone yelled, “It’s a bride and groom!” and the room broke out into applause. The best part? Strangers bought us beer.

I need to give a special shout out to my parents for footing some of the bill; to good buddy Kate for being a most excellent Homer wrangler; to good buddy Tiff for forcing me to carrying a bouquet and getting the perfect one; to the rad Kirk who went rogue from my iTunes playlist and kept the dance floor packed; to my sister Michelle for everything from dressing her kids, to keeping me calm, to her fabulous toast; to best man Collin for his support and terrific toast and to Collin’s super smart and super hot wife Suzanne for making sure the precession ran smoothly; and, of course, all the folks who took such amazing pictures.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

12 thoughts on “Just married

  1. congrats – love the dress!

  2. I barely know you two, but I wish you both and your little doggie all the happiness in the world!

  3. It was a lovely wedding and you were correct their wasn’t a dry eye in the place, so much emotion going on! You and David deserve a long and happy life together. Love Mom & Dad

  4. Yeah, so I guess this answers my question about a fabulous time being had by all.

  5. I feel so silly right now. I thought there were 140 people. 130? Okay.

  6. I love the kissing picture! I love you guys!!

  7. The wedding to which all other weddings will be compared!

  8. CONGRATULATIONS! Your dress is gorgeous–it looks perfect on you. And I love the postcard. What a sweet way to commemorate the start of this new phase of your life together. Yay!

  9. Thank you, everyone … except Katie. HA!

  10. All the best Sonia and David. Great postcard too.

  11. Pingback: The week in review: iPhones, football and luggage | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

