The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Gimme shelter

19 Comments

Yeah, so, there are these posters at all the Muni stops in my neighborhood that really bring me down.

There are always posters about HIV or homelessness or domestic abuse, but as you know, I don’t care about people. No, it’s the one about pets that makes me almost burst into tears.

My mighty, mighty good man David and I were taking the T-train from Dogpatch when I saw this poster. We were on our way to the Embarcadero, where we were going to hop on a ferry to Sausalito. Good times, right? Unfortunately, for the first part of our daytrip, David had to listen to me cry about this poster.

“Who does that?”
“Who just leaves their pet?”
“Wouldn’t the guy find a home for it?”
“I don’t understand people.”

Then we got on the train, but as we pulled into the next stop, I caught a glimpse of the same poster again. I couldn’t let it go.

“Pets depend on us to take care of them. They can’t really fend for themselves. That poster is really effective. Look how upset I am. But, I can’t adopt another pet. Homer would never allow it.”

Finally, David offered his own interpretation of the poster: “You know, the cat looks happy to be in the shelter. Maybe that guy was an abusive owner.”

Me: “Did you just try to cheer me up by saying the cat was abused?”

David: “Yes. Yes, I did.”

Me: “I thought so. Thanks.”

[Side note: The poster is for a good cause, The Shelter Project. Like I said above, I can’t adopt another pet; however, when I see something that upsets me about animals – like that sad commercial about abandoned pets with the Sarah McLachlan song that makes me want to take a bunch of pills – I donate to an animal-supporting cause such as the SF SPCA. If you have room in your home and your heart for a pet, I strongly encourage you to adopt a shelter animal. They will improve your quality of life.]

[Side note, part two: Of course, I really do care about people, but not as much as the amazing Julie Michelle. Here is further proof that she is an angel walking amongst us in San Francisco: Taking Flight.]

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

19 thoughts on “Gimme shelter

  1. Thank you for the shout out (and we all do what we can, so you handle the pets and I’ll do my part somewhere else).

    It’s not that I’m any different than anyone else. I think we all have the capacity and perhaps sometimes the obligation, to help someone if we are able to, under our own power, instinct or inner guidance.

    xo

  2. I think you AND Julie are rock stars — both of you and your respective giant hearts make me smile. So honored to know both of you.

  3. Um, yeah. These ads make me extremely sad. The only thing that’s slightly okay about this is that the cat maintains his sunny disposition through the entire thing. Note that it’s the owner that breaks down and weeps. The cat’s, like, not bummed at all about being in that cage in the shelter. Imagine if the cat was shedding a tear in his cage, in the shelter, all by himself. Oh God! It would be unbearable.

  4. transient people should rent pets.

  5. i have a better question — who shakes with their left hand?

  6. The kind of guy who would ditch his cat in an animal shelter, I guess.

  7. and just like a real cat, it remains cool and aloof throughout the entire process.

  8. This one TOTALLY makes me cry, to the point where I can’t look at it and am forced to open Cute Overload instead.

    I can’t even really look at it on your post right now.

  9. Sonia you are the rock star! Thanks for your support of the SFSPCA!

  10. seriously, I had the same question in my head. How does a person who’s shitty enough to ditch their pet have good enough karma to get an overseas job offer in this economy? fuck my life.

    • When I was first moving to San Francisco, I looked at the scariest apartments in the Tenderloin because, unlike most apartments in SF, they allowed dogs. That’s how much I love my dog. I ALMOST moved to the Tenderloin.

      I wouldn’t never leave my pet, BUT, if I had to for some reason, I wouldn’t leave them at a shelter. I would find them a good home myself or else I wouldn’t be able to live with myself.

  11. I’ve had the same rantversation with Glenn multiple times and I always say the same thing: “Pets aren’t disposable, aholes!!!!”

    Now I want to go adopt more cats.

  12. Pingback: Pets Still Left Behind - Shakadoo

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

