The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Your vs. you’re

12 Comments

Yeah, so, I’m sure you’ve read all about that gun-wielding guy who was holding hostages at the Discovery Channel headquarters, right?

“Among his demands: ‘Saving what’s left of the non-human wildlife by decreasing the human population’ and taking shows that encourage ‘the birth of anymore parasitic human infants” off the air.'”

I know the guy is crazy, but that sounds like a legitimate gripe to me. The commercials for “19 and Counting” and “Kate Plus 8” on TLC (which is owned by the Discovery Channel) make me want to take hostages, too.

Do you think this gunman’s actions were just a publicity stunt to get his own reality show? If so, it was a bad way to go about it, because he was shot and killed by police. He should have just tried popping out a bunch of kids. Oh wait …

So anyway, because I have a big mouth, and I think every little, stupid thought in my head is so important and must be shared, I went on Twitter and said this:

Discovery channel gunman wanted them to cancel shows that encourage “the birth of anymore parasitic human infants.” I think that’s reasonable.

A few minutes later, someone I don’t know tweeted back to me:

@TheSoniaShow your a complete idiot

Part of me felt like I shouldn’t respond. That’s the mature part of me. Unfortunately (or is it fortunately?), I’m 95 percent immature, so I responded.

You used the wrong “your.” It’s “you’re” … idiot. RT @Somedouche* @TheSoniaShow your a complete idiot

* Some Twitter names have been changed to protect the douchey.

I think the lesson here is if you are going to call someone an idiot, make sure you use the correct grammar. Oh, and waving around a gun and taking hostages is not a good idea.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

12 thoughts on “Your vs. you’re

  1. It always amuses me how people think they’re being clever with “intelligent” insults (such as the above) when they end up just making fools of themselves. Ah, the Internet.

  2. People who should be taken hostage: Those who misuse your, their and it’s.

  3. Unwittingly and single-handedly, I have cooperated fully towards the fellow’s goals. No parasitic infants around here, just a cat with a few fleas.

  4. haha atta girl! 🙂

    and oh, the hostage-taking drama’s happening all over the world now 😦

  5. I can’t wait to have some parasitic infants of my very own!

  6. The copywriter who replaced me at my last gig used
    “they’re” for “their” today — a friend emailed it to me and begged me to come back. Totally effing made my day.

  7. @Chris: HAAAAA! Valid point, sir; however, my jumbled sentence isn’t as bad as using the incorrect “you’re” or “there.”

  8. Also, Chris, David just said, “Chris is full of sass.”

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

