The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Think pink

6 Comments

Yeah, so, as a former long-time Oakland resident, David used to go to A’s games all the time. Now, not so much.

We live pretty close to AT&T Park so when we do go to games we go to Giants games; however, David has been wanting to go an A’s game all season, so he finally decided to make it happen on Sunday. Of course, it wasn’t just some regular ol’ A’s game: It was also Breast Cancer Awareness Day. I told him we didn’t need to go on Breast Cancer Day, but he wanted to and he thought it might be good for me to go, too. He was right.

I told my coworker Jennifer we were going to the Breast Cancer Awareness game. “Aren’t you already aware of breast cancer?” “I’m vaguely aware of it,” I replied. [No one else in the office thinks we are funny.]

We got to the game early, because the first 10,000 fans get a nifty pink tote bag. I can never say no to a free tote bag, because I always I have a lot of stuff to carry (groceries, emotional baggage, etc.). We had awesome seats, eight rows behind the dugout. I got my beer, my veggie dog, my peanuts: I was ready for the game. But wait, there was a whole pre-game thing about breast cancer to sit through first.

Hot pink heels

Crazy sexy T-shirt

I’m a proud breast cancer survivor. I even wore my “Crazy Sexy Cancer Goddess” T-shirt to the game. But honestly, I had never been to a breast cancer awareness event. It’s not that I don’t want to go. I just don’t for whatever reason. I donate money for the cure, of course (and you should, too), but I don’t do the walks or the runs or attend a support group. Writing about it has been my support group. I share my story by blogging about it or talking about it when asked. I don’t have a pink ribbon my car or anything like that. In fact, I don’t own a lot of pink. Although, I did wear hot pink heels on my wedding day (pictured left).

500 breast cancer survivors take the field at the Oakland Coliseum.

My point is this baseball game was my first breast cancer event. Before the game, there were 500 breast cancer survivors on the field, each holding a pink balloon. A few of them shared their stories. It wasn’t long before “there was something in my eye,” and the tears started flowing. Breast cancer has made me soft. I was overwhelmed. All these women … We’ve all been through it. We’ve been so scared, so angry, so sad.

I watched these brave women on the field, and then I looked into the stands. All their friends and family were cheering for them. Sitting right next to me was my mighty, mighty good man, wearing his pink breast cancer bracelet. This awesome man supported me through three surgeries and countless doctor appointments. I literally leaned on him as I tried to walk through the apartment, and he would help me out of bed in the middle of the night when I needed to use the bathroom. The guy is fuckin’ saint!

I was really touched to be there. I was so glad we got to the game a little early for the ceremony. There were 500 women on that field, but there are a million more that don’t get to call themselves breast cancer survivors. I never forget that, and I feel so lucky. Every day I feel lucky. Even when I’m posting on this blog about bad grammar or about some restaurant I ate at or how much I hate those Tea Party idiots, I still feel lucky.

Later in the game, David went to get us more beer and he came back with beer and this …

My new pink hat

A little something pink for me.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

6 thoughts on “Think pink

  1. I hate it when your blogs make me find something in my eye first thing in the morning.

  2. There’s something in my eye, too … I’m glad you got your something pink 🙂

  3. I’ve got something in both my eyes and I think it is some kind of searing gas. I love you both.

  4. must be something in the air…I am so proud of you Sonia! You never fail to amaze me. Be strong! Love Mom

  5. Pingback: San Francisco Giants vs. Oakland A’s: Can you root for both? | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

