The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

The cat’s meow

3 Comments

Yeah, so, there is a woman in the Dogpatch who is on a mission to feed every feral and/or stray cat in the area.

She thinks she’s doing a good thing, feeding hungry animals. It’s hard to fault her for it. Well, it’s hard for me to fault her for it. The neighbors kinda hate her.

David and I live in a condo complex near a self-storage facility in our hood. Every night some woman manages to get food and water through the gates. She wants to feed the feral/stray cats that hang out in the self-storage space. Of course, she is not just feeding the cats.

Some nights I look through the gate and I see cats, raccoons, skunks, possums and rats eating the food … together. They are all surrounding the box of food and eating. It’s the goddamn circle of life in there. Hakuna matata, I say, and I go about my business. Sometimes the skunks get uppity and spray another animals and it smells, but I just close the windows. Really, who cares? Oh, that’s right. The neighbors and the folks at the self-storage facility. They even put up a sign this morning.

I’ve had a few conversations with the neighbors and our condo complex security guard. They’ve told me that they yell at the woman or chase her off. For some reason, they really hate her. I see her all the time. I never yell at her. I watch her, because she is fascinating.

One night I came home from yoga around 8, I was sitting in my car, and I could see her coming. She was acting like she was involved in some serious Mission: Impossible shit. She turned off her car engine and shut off her headlights and coasted down the street and stopped in front of the self-storage facility. I watched her throw a box top full of food over the gate, then she pushed her car down the street and hopped in and started the engine. I actually laughed out loud in the car, because she looked completely ridiculous. It was 8 p.m.! There were plenty of people out, walking their dogs or heading to the cars from Caltrain. It wasn’t exactly the dead of night.

David and I saw her again last night, but this time she had a whole contraption for delivering the goods. She’s getting more efficient. She had a fishing pole, which she was using to lower a bucket of food and a bucket of water to the animals. David just wanted to ignore her and go into the apartment, but I wanted to stay and watch. “Look at her, David. She’s got a fishing pole. A fishing pole!”

I want to know when she started, and I want to know why. Was she strolling by one day and saw a hungry cat, decided to feed it and it just went from there? Does she do this all over San Francisco and this is just her Dogpatch stop? Does she have an apartment full of cats at home? Does she have a significant other that she leaves to feed the animals?

Cat lady: “Well, I’m off to feed the city’s stray animals. I’ll be home late.”
Significant other: “Good luck, honey. I’ll be here watching ‘Hoarders’.”

Next time I see her I’m going to try to talk her. Maybe she will just hiss at me and run away.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “The cat’s meow

  1. Thank you to Eugenia for sending me this link via Facebook.

    http://abcnews.go.com/2020/cat-ladies/story?id=9033354&page=1

    Apparently, there is a documentary about crazy cat ladies.

  2. “hakuna matata” ftw.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

