The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Work of art

2 Comments

Yeah, so, I bet you didn’t know this but Oakland has museums.

I know, right? It does. Oakland has museums, restaurants and bars. It even has its own zoo. Isn’t that cute? It’s like San Francisco, Jr. … but with parking.

This past weekend mighty, mighty good man David and I went to the Oakland Museum to check out the Pixar exhibit, because David loves animation, and I love to be around crowds of kids screaming, “It’s Nemo!”

In all seriousness, the Pixar exhibit is really cool and definitely worth checking out. After making our way through cool Pixar art, we decided to wander through the rest of the museum. David is an art lover. He actually reads books about art and shit. He can identify different periods and knows artists’ names. Me? Not so much. But, if you turn me loose in a video store I can tell you about all the movies, though, so there.

So anyway, like I said, I don’t know jack about art, but there were some pieces that really spoke to me.

There was this one painting. It was a party scene. There are a ton of people, but there is this one couple that is clearly doing it in full view of everyone. Some of the other guests are watching, and they don’t seem shocked. They look like they are saying, “Well, this is the last time we invite them over.” It’s weird. Even the dog is watching.

Here, see for yourself. I took a picture:

Yeah, I have to admit that when I look at a picture like this I get emotional erect.

I was quite taken by another painting as well. At first I didn’t really notice it, but I kept coming back to it. I spent a long time admiring it. It stirred up a lot of mixed feelings. I was amused by it at first, but the more I looked at it, the more disturbing it became. This morning, I woke up thinking about this painting and how depressing it is.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

2 thoughts on “Work of art

  1. Please stop being so condescending to Oakland. you have no idea what this city is about and comparing it to SF is really pointless.

    • Dear Nobody,

      The post is supposed to be funny. It’s really making fun of people who worship SF and don’t know jack about Oakland. I know what Oakland is about. I work in Oakland five days a week.

      And next time you post on my blog, put a name. Nobody likes to read comments from Nobody.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

