The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

At the movies

3 Comments

Yeah, so, I know what you are thinking? “Sonia, you’ve been strangely silent on your blog lately. That could only mean one thing: You’ve been watching ‘American Idol’ again!”

Well, you are wrong, my tens of readers. My vow to quit “American Idol” remains in tact. I have been filling the void with movies just like I said I would. Sometimes, I even crack open a book … sometimes. By the way, does a magazine count as a book?

So anyway, in lieu of the reality show about “singers” I have been watching movies, specifically some of the Oscar contenders. I like to be informed when kicking everyone’s ass in the Oscar pool.

I watched “The Town,” which I highly recommend even though it is directed by and stars Ben Affleck. I know we all think of Ben Affleck as that douche in “Armageddon.” I used to cringe when I saw he was in a movie. The same kind of cringe I make now when a movie preview says, “From director Michael Bay.” But, in fact, Affleck has turned into quite the filmmaker. He directed “Gone, Baby, Gone” a few years back it was also really gripping. I recommend both of those flicks if you haven’t seen them. I thought Jeremy Renner was crazy good in “The Town.” I can see why he’s nominated for Best Supporting Actor. Unfortunately for him, he’s not going to win, and if he does Christian Bale just might kick his ass and take his Oscar statue.

Mighty, mighty good man David and I had a date night a few weeks ago, so we planned on dinner and a movie. I wanted to see “True Grit,” while David wanted to see “Black Swan.” Role reversal, right? So we saw “True Grit” because sometimes I like to stamp my little feet until I get my way. I’m sorry but Western + Jeff Bridge + Coen Brothers = Big Fuckin’ Win! I had to see it. This movie was, well, a big fuckin’ win. I loved it! The Man (a.k.a. my dad) won’t see it. He thinks it’s blasphemy to remake John Wayne movies. What a shame, because it’s a really awesome movie.

Don’t worry about David. We saw his movie choice, too. Through a connection that shall not be named here we got a screening copy of “Black Swan,” starring Natalie Portman. Come for the hot girl-on-girl action, stay for the horrifying descent into madness and creepy mother-daughter relationship.

We watched the street art documentary “Exit Through the Gift Shop” on Netflix streaming. I guess I’m not as cool as everyone else, because I thought the documentary was just OK. It didn’t really blow my mind, and I’m kinda surprised that everyone is peeing their pants about it. I thought the first half of the movie about all the different street artists was really interesting. I wanted to learn more about them. The second half, about some dude who wants to be a street artist but without actually bothering to create the art himself, was not so interesting. I’m sure some artist straight out of “Art School Confidential” will comment explaining that the inferior second half was an art experiment and I just didn’t get it. That’s so fuckin’ deep, yo.

I saw “The Kids Are All Right” while chugging wine on the plane to Paris. I really enjoyed it. I even laughed out loud a few times on the plane, earning me looks from David as he pleaded with me to keep myself in check. If I wasn’t already married to such a dreamy man, I wouldn’t object to Mark Ruffalo being my sperm donor. [Call me, Mark.]

Last night, we saw “The Illusionist,” which is nominated for Best Animated Feature. It’s the same folks behind “The Triplets of Belleville,” which I adored. “The Illusionist” was kinda sad, and even though it was only 82 minutes long it felt longer. The animation is lovely, though, and it’s a good movie; however, it didn’t hit me like “Toy Story 3,” which made me cry like a little girl.

As for the remaining Best Picture nominees: We still have not seen “The Social Network,” “The King’s Speech” and “Winter’s Bone,” but hopefully we will see them before the Oscars. I will not be seeing “127 Hours,” because I don’t want to spend money to watch a movie in which I will surely faint and miss the ending, even though I know how it ends. The dude cuts off his own arm! Yeah, sounds great. Let’s see it in 3-D. Can’t wait for the sequel in which the dude cuts off his own foot. I saw“Inception” (or did I just dream I did?) before its was nominated. And, through the above-mentioned unnamed connection, we also have “The Fighter” sitting on our table, waiting to be watched.

Of course, all this fabulous movie watching will probably slow down because AMC is repeating the third season of “Breaking Bad,” so this is my chance to finally catch up. Also, “Justified” starts its second season tonight. Oh, and “Archer” is back. And the final season of “Friday Night Lights” is right around the corner. And …

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “At the movies

  1. The King’s Speech was definitely enjoyable. Colin Firth still dreamy, even as a stammering cranky prince.

  2. Thanks for the heads up on Breaking Bad. LOVED Christian Bale in The Fighter.

  3. Are you boycotting American Idol because the judges changed or because you think it’s rigged? Either and both are valid. (I haven’t stopped watching this season. It’s not as fiery as seasons past – and I loved Simon – but there is some good talent this year. (Read: no Kris Allens. Dude should NOT have won.))

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

