The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Couch, sweet couch

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, it’s oh so quiet.

I feel like I’ve been in hiding a little bit, which is why things on the blog have been relatively quiet. My apologies.

I haven’t been feeling well, so I’ve been spending a lot of time on the couch, watching TV and feeling sorry for myself. Not exactly entertaining blog fodder. I could write a lengthy post about how I’m married to the best man on the planet because he takes such amazingly good care of me, but I don’t want to make all the other husbands out there look bad. Poor David has been sick all this week, too. He never gets sick. This flu is a real bitch; a serious bitch and if she doesn’t stay way from my man I’m going to take off my earrings and it’s going to get scandalous.

Since we haven’t been going out and about, we’ve been spending a lot of time watching TV. After being repeatedly told by Kirk that we are missing out, we watched the entire second season of “Parks and Recreation” so we are all caught up now. He is right. The show is hilarious. I highly recommend it. It’s funny … you know, like “The Office” used to be, but not as mean spirited.

Last night we finished watching the BBC series “Downtown Abbey.” Apparently, everyone was all a twitter on Twitter about it when it was airing on PBS, but it was airing while we were on our honeymoon so we missed out. We check it out on Netflix streaming, and we were instantly hooked. I’m sad that I have to wait until 2012 for new episodes.

David has also been playing a lot of “Mass Effect 2.” I don’t know jack about video games, but he’s really into it. Whenever he plays a game in which he can create his own character, he makes the character look like me. Adorable or weird: You decide. I think it’s adorable. So anyway, every once in a while I walk into the room and there will be a woman on TV who looks vaguely like me, and she’s killing aliens or beating up an unarmed prisoner. Replace “aliens” with “helpless homeless men” and “unarmed prisoner” with “children” and it’s not too different than how I am in real life, to be honest.

One night when David dared to venture in the outside world without me, I watched “Winter’s Bone.” What a depressing piece of work that was. Actually, it was really good, and I can see why it won indie film awards but none of the major ones. A story about a teenage girl trying to find her meth-cooking dad who jumped bail so the family doesn’t lose their home in the Ozark Mountains doesn’t stand a chance against a movie about a king with a speech impediment.

I’ve been watching a lot of “The Daily Show” and “Colbert Report,” and even though those shows are hilarious they make me depressed. Liberals never win. We are the Detroit Lions of politics. I feel like between all these evil politicians and these natural disasters, the world will be destroyed well before 2012. Sorry, Mayans, you were so close.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

