The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

The spawn

19 Comments

Yeah, so, I’m knocked up.

I’m preggers. I’m PG. I’m preggo. I’m going to be someone’s mom. I’m with child. I’m expecting. The rabbit died. I’ve got a bun in the oven. I’m eating for two. I’m in a family way. I’m a MILF. I’m a baby mama.

Awww, our spawn has my glasses.

I’m officially at the 11 weeks, 6 days mark, or what I like to call it: 12 weeks. This means that we are allowed to go public, and of course, The Sonia Show has the exclusive. I debated selling the story to Us Weekly, but I decided to keep it local.

It’s been really difficult not blogging about it. I don’t like keeping secrets from my tens of readers, but there is a superstition about sharing the pregnancy too early. We had to make sure everything was good to go. I’m sure you understand. The doc says the spawn is stuck in there good and proper, so we can finally tell people.

Mighty, mighty good man David and I are still kinda shocked, but we are so happy. The doctors made it sound like it would be a miracle if a 40-year-old woman got pregnant. I guess we showed them. The Mansfields are good at three things: 1) Making assy jokes; 2) Being loud; and 3) Gettin’ knocked up. The fact that David is a super virile doesn’t hurt either.

We left for our honeymoon at the end of December with the idea that we’d just stop playing it safe. We weren’t going to go crazy and actively try to get pregnant, meaning we weren’t going to mark calendars and take temperatures and all that crap. We were just going to do what people do on their honeymoon and let the babies fall where they may. We had no idea that I would be coming home knocked up.

I have a million stories to share, so I will be posting a lot in the next week, so I can catch you guys up on everything. And I will try very hard to make sure that my blog doesn’t turn into a boring-ass mommy blog about my precious spawn.

Holy shit! We are to be parents. Our apologies in advance, world.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

19 thoughts on “The spawn

  1. Well I think you know how I personally feel about babies, but since you seem so genuinely stoked, please accept my sincere and heartfelt CONGRATULATIONS!

  2. I’m already planning on being the best aunt ever and since I will only have one niece/nephew I can say he/she is my favorite without hurting anyone’s feelings. Yay!

  3. You already have the most popular baby in San Francisco and it isn’t even born yet! Yours will be the only mommy blog I read!

  4. Omigosh, I completely missed that the baby is wearing glasses in the ultrasound. You have officially made my day.

  5. Glorious, magnificent, wonderful news! Congratulations to your blossoming family!

  6. Congratulations! Parenthood is wonderful, rewarding, and so frustrating that I wish it on everyone.

  7. Grandma & Grandpa are looking forward to a new little one Hopefully a boy this time but we aren’t picky we will take a girl too!

  8. Congratulations! That is a fantastic tax deduction!

  9. Congratulations to you both! That’s awesome and I’ll totally follow your boring-ass mommy blog!

  10. How very exciting!! I myself cannot wait to see all the hilarious mommy blogs you have instore for us!! I am so happy for you and the mighty good “dad to be” David too 🙂

  11. When you left for your honeymoon, I actually said to Andrew, “I bet she comes home pregnant.” So so so thrilled for you and David.

  12. Congrats! I was actually just arguing with someone about the unwritten “12 weeks” rule and got shot down, so I’m glad you’re with me on that. I’m always shocked when people drop the bomb that they’re like, 8 days pregnant or whatever. I also like the hipster shades on the babeh.

  13. Sonia and David, I am so happy for the both of you! Yeah!

  14. Congratulations! THANK YOU for still being hilarious and sarcastic and a smartypants. You guys give me hope that parenting does not have to make you boring!

  15. Simply to get away from my aged man telling me what to do every day. And now I got Sarge.

  16. Pingback: I still don’t have cancer, you guys | The Sonia Show

  17. Pingback: Tripping | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

