The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

On leave

5 Comments

Yeah, so, dealing with maternity leave is turning out to be stressful. At this point, labor sounds better than figuring this whole thing out.

Recently, our company was bought by another company — a big company – which means we’ve got a whole new set of rules to play by when it comes to maternity leave. [They have also assigned me a random number, which makes me feel really special. I asked if I could change my number to TK421. I would detail the entire conversation for you, but it was a boring conversation anyway.]

So, yeah, this company has their own maternity leave plan in lieu of the state plan. I hear the new company’s plan is better. I hope it is, but figuring it all out has been a pain in the placenta. The employee handbook seems to say two different things about maternity leave, and neither of those things are anything like the state plan.

And our new company intranet isn’t helping matters.

As I was researching and wading through all these details yesterday I started to get really upset. “They are trying to trick me into taking less time! I’m going to set this building on fire!” Luckily, my sister talked me out of committing arson.

Michelle: “I’m sure no one is trying to trick you.”
Me: “They want to destroy me!” [striking matches] “I will destroy them first.”
Michelle: “It’s going to get all figured out. You’ve got the ball rolling, and you’re right on schedule for getting everything completed on time.”
Me: “Thank you for talking me out of setting the building on fire … again.”

***

UPDATE: After meeting with HR, it seems like the new company plan is pretty good but – damn – there are a ton of forms to fill out.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

5 thoughts on “On leave

  1. I’m curious to hear what the new company gives you. Figuring out maternity leave was seriously stressful, even with the help of the incomparable Brian U. I was able to squeeze an extra month out of it, btw, due to two accidents– 1) Dashiell was born two weeks later than expected, so I was out on leave twiddling my thumbs for a while and 2) I had an unplanned c-section, which automatically gets you an extra two weeks of disability. Nice– but it was still nowhere near adequate and I wasn’t at all ready to go back.

    • I don’t get more time off than the state plan, but it pays better. It’s 6 weeks off with 100 percent pay, following another 6 weeks under Paid Family Leave at 55 percent pay.

      Also, my work is pretty flexible about letting me work from home, so I don’t need to come into the office every day before the spawn arrives. I can work from the couch with my feet up and try to be as comfortable as I can.
      So, the maternity leave is only 3 months, but assuming the spawn doesn’t decide to come too early (I suspect he will be before the Oct. 5 due date), I will come back to work right after the New Year.

  2. Congrats Sonia! When is the baby due?

  3. lol loved when you said its a pain in the placenta !!! Good luck with everything and mostly, the form filling duty !

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

