The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

I’m lovin’ it

2 Comments

Yeah, so, here’s some things I’m lovin’ these days:

The Suddenly Skinny tank from Target – After popping out the Spawn, my belly is, well, really flabby. It’s going to take a while to get it back to normal. In the meantime, this tank top keeps everything in its rightful place.

Anchor Steam Christmas Ale – Mighty, mighty good man David bought this beer the other day. Even though I’m trying to cut down on the carbs to lose my flabby belly (see item above) this beer is irresistible to me. By the way, if you haven’t taken the Anchor Brewery tour, you should. It’s pretty cool, and you get to taste a lot of beer at the end. Oh, and it’s free. Free beer! You’re welcome.

KitchenAid blender – It’s supposed to be a big no-no to buy your wife a kitchen appliance, but I was so happy when David got me this blender for my birthday. I’ve never had a blender that didn’t start smoking and die when I tried to crush up ice. It’s awesome. I make fruit smoothies all the time now. Also, he got it for me in orange, my favorite color.

“Parks and Recreation” – If you are not watching this show then I feel sorry for you. It’s funny as hell. I would vote for Leslie Knope for president, and Ron Swanson is my favorite character on TV right now. One of my favorite things about the show is when the Parks Department has meetings with the public. People complain about the dumbest, most random shit. If you’ve ever been to a public meeting then you know it’s funny cuz it’s true.

“Sesame Street” – Look, I know the Spawn is too young to watch TV. But, when I’m feeding him, sometimes I turn on “Sesame Street,” thinking it can’t hurt. Maybe he will learn something … or maybe I will. Plus, I like it. More than a few times, I have laughed out loud watching it, and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I think you have a cold, dead heart if you don’t crack a smile while watching “Sesame Street.”

“Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling – After months of reading pregnancy and baby books, it’s nice to read something light and funny. Also, Mindy is awesome. I like to imagine we’d be friends. We’d watch crappy reality shows and eat food that’s bad for us.

STFU, Parents – I fuckin’ love this site. It’s my greatest fear that I will end up on this site for mommjacking someone’s Facebook status or just being one of those snobby mommies. Seriously, if I ever turn into one of these moms you have my permission to hire someone to kill me.

Miracle Blanket – I hope this item isn’t too mommy bloggy (especially after writing about STFU, Parents) but … I bet you didn’t know this, but babies like to be swaddled up like little burritos. Weird, right? When the Spawn gets tired, we wrap him up in this blanket super tight, and he’ll sleep for four or five hours (that’s time to drink an entire bottle of wine …  or two … not that I know anything about that). It’s rad. That’s right, I said “rad.” I’m still trying to bring that word back, and I’m not giving up.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

2 thoughts on “I’m lovin’ it

  1. Cutest baby ever. I love you Calvin and can’t wait to have you all to myself on Monday. Yay!

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

