The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Julie

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, Julie Michelle is one of the best people I know, and she needs our help. She gives so much to everyone she meets and has done so much for this city, it’s San Francisco’s duty to help her out.

She’s one of those amazing people who gives so much of herself to everyone. While the rest of us are picking out which fancy restaurant to have our birthday dinner, Julie serves food to the less fortunate on her birthday. True story. She once told me a story about how she comforted a crying stranger on Muni. She works tirelessly on Help a Mother Out. In other words, she’s getting into heaven.

Julie is the wonderful, kind soul behind I Live Here: SF. I contributed my story. I had never met Julie when she contacted me two years ago. I was recovering from my mastectomy when she sent me a warm, friendly email telling me how much she enjoys my blog and wished me well. If a few emails back and forth, she asked me if I would like to share my San Francisco on I Live Here: SF.

I was so honored, and all the support and words of encouragement I received after it ran really touched me. Also, Julie took one of my favorite photos ever. Mighty, mighty good man David and I used this photo as our save-the-date cards for our wedding.

Recently, Julie’s boyfriend Lee suffered a stroke. He is on the road to recovery, but he’s got some work ahead of him. Sadly, because the health care system in this country is downright shameful, they are already facing mounting medical bills. That’s why Julie’s friends have organized a fundraiser to help.

It’s on Sunday, Dec. 18 from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. at the San Francisco Motorcycle Club, 2194 Folsom Street, San Francisco. There will music, drinks and a raffle. If you can’t make the fundraiser, you can still help by donating here.

It breaks my heart that this happened to them. They are good people. Please take some time today to be grateful for what you have and send some positive thoughts out to Julie and Lee. When you are done with that, go to to the fundraising page and give anything you can.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

