The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

The nap master

3 Comments

Yeah, so, people are obsessed with sleeping babies.

There are a million books written about getting your baby to sleep through the night. Everywhere we go, people ask, “How does the baby sleep?” I usually say, “On his back under a pile of clothes I will never get to wear again because of him.”

Seriously, though, people do ask me about his sleep patterns everywhere I go. I went to CUP just down the street and a stranger asked me about the Spawn’s sleep schedule. What they really want to know is if he is sleeping through the night? The answer is sometimes.

Sometimes he sleeps through the night. Sometimes he wakes up at 4 a.m. then again at 7 a.m. Sometimes, if he’s having a bad night, he wakes up at 2 a.m. then 4 a.m. then 7 a.m., but that’s not very often.

When I hear him cry on the baby monitor, I get so annoyed sometimes, because I’m a human being who needs sleep. Argh! Go to sleep, kid. I march across the house, open his bedroom door and then I see him, and I just melt. “Oh hi! It’s you. I missed you.”

Sure, maybe the Spawn hasn’t quite nailed the whole sleeping through the night thing, but he’s pretty awesome at taking a nap. I present to you, dear readers, photographic evidence that Spawn knows how to nap.

Napping during happy hour at Epic Roasthouse

Napping at SFO

Napping on his father, who is playing "Batman Arkham City"

Napping during David's office holiday party ... in a bowling alley. Seriously.

Napping at Pier 39

I wish I could nap like this kid.

 

 

 

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “The nap master

  1. He must take after Grandpa Terry who can also nap anywhere and any time it must be nice!!!!! Wish i could do that too,,,,oh well

  2. My kids still don’t sleep through the night. Lucy makes an appearance in our room at around 2-3am nightly. At least I don’t have to get up anymore though.

  3. Pingback: Santa Achievement Unlocked | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

