The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Don’t task, don’t tell

Leave a comment

Yeah, so,remember how my company was brought by another bigger company last year? Well, ever since then my company has slowly been turning into “Office Space.”

A few weeks ago I almost dragged our office printer out into a field to smash it. You’d think that something silly like an office printer not working wouldn’t be enough to piss me off, but considering that I work for a printing company I kinda think it’s bullshit.

I also have three different usernames and passwords to sign into the corporate email. This drives me bananas on an almost daily basis. And, in order to access HR information I have to use some sort of bingo card to enter in another password. It’s like playing “Battleship” but instead of sinking someone’s battleship I get to approve someone’s time-off request. Good times.

Oh, and by the way, the corporate email only works properly in Internet Explorer. I know, right? Internet Explorer! Every time you open Internet Explorer, Collective Soul adds another date to their reunion tour.

Yesterday, I was in yet another phone meeting with some folks in the corporate office in Minnesota when this happened:

Coworker: “OK, I’m going to task you with that, Sonia.”

Me: [tilts head like a dog that heard a strange noise]

Task me? I had to bust out my Office Space-to-English dictionary. Apparently, when you are “tasking” someone you are “asking” them. Why not just say, “I’m going to ask you to handle that, Sonia?”

I still like my job. I don’t mean to sound like I hate it there. It’s a good job, it’s flexible, and I work with some really cool people. Plus, I get to think about graphic design, printing, marketing and social media all day …when I’m not being tasked with something involving TPS reports.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

