The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

He’s a pretty good kid. I think I’ll keep him.

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, mighty, mighty good man David went to Tahoe with some friends this weekend, so it was just me and the Spawn all weekend long.

I think we had a pretty good time.

On Saturday, we went to Beegs and Sass’ place for a barbecue to celebrate Mr. Sass’ birthday. Of course, The Boy and I were the first ones to arrive. Actually, we were 20 minutes early. I know, I know. I’m a huge asshole. Beegs and Sass live in Oakland, and I thought there would be more traffic. Also, I just couldn’t wait to sit in the sun in their backyard. We don’t get a lot of sun in Glen Park, and I miss it.

“That’s the sun, my son. It’s warm, huh?”

Our bottles.

We had to skip out of the party a little early, because The Boy was starting to get fussy. I didn’t want everyone to have to listen to that. “Happy birthday, Sass. Here’s a crying baby for you.”

On Sunday, I met up with some of the ladies at Lovejoy’s Tea Room in Noe Valley. Unlike the last time I was in Noe Valley, I made a mental note to remember where I parked this time. I wasn’t planning on bringing Calvin to a tea party, but with David away I didn’t have much of a choice. For some reason, I decided to dress him up like a monkey. You’re welcome, kid.

Curious Calvin.

He was on pretty good behavior at Lovejoy’s. To be honest, I was mentally prepared to have to leave after 30 minutes with a crying baby. Instead, he was pretty happy and smiley, content to eat Cheerios and stare of all the ladies in the place. It wasn’t until the end of lunch that he started to get fussy, so we hightailed it out of there, before everyone started throwing their teacups at us.

By that point, The Boy had not napped all day. No joke. It was a little after 3 p.m. when we left, and the Spawn had napped for about 15 minutes that morning. I thought, for sure, he would fall asleep in the car. He didn’t.

We went home, and I put a blanket on the ground in our living room. I was hoping if I laid down next to him, he would relax and go to sleep. All that did was get him all excited. He LOVED that I was lying down next to hm and started cracking up.

One of us wants to nap; the other one … not so much.

Not long after I snapped that photo, David came home, and The Boy proceeded to crawl all over him before falling asleep on him.

Spider-Baby, Spider-Baby, does whatever a Spider-Baby does.

Homer also couldn’t wait for David to get home, so he could get some sleep.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

