The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

I’m totally fun, you guys

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, mighty, mighty good man David is traveling for work again. This time he is in Orlando. While he is there, he gets to go to Universal Studios (for free!) and go on the Harry Potter ride, and he will most likely visit Disney World.

Sounds like fun, right?

Well, I’m having fun, too. Fun = Ordering Indian food delivery and watching depressing movies and documentaries.

On Sunday night I watched “Beasts of the Southern Wild.” Very good movie, very original, very depressing. It’s On Demand, and definitely worth watching.

[Side note: Dear Hollywood: I think all new releases should be available On Demand. I would pay $20 or more to watch “Lincoln,” “Argo” or “Django Unchained” right now at home. Love, Sonia]

Monday night, I watched the Oscar nominated documentary “How To Survive a Plague,” which is about how the gay community formed an activist group, ACT UP, to battle AIDS back in the early stages of the disease. It’s streaming on Netflix, and I highly recommend it. It’s depressing. I cried. Most of the documentary is made up of archival footage, and several of the people we meet die of AIDS.

In the middle of the documentary, David called to check in.

David: OK, well, enjoy watching your depressing AIDS documentary.
Me: Don’t tell me how it ends.

Obviously, it’s horribly sad, and the documentary will make you so angry that the government didn’t do anything to fight AIDS sooner.

Also on Netflix streaming is “The Invisible War,” which is about women in the military and rape. I didn’t think it was a good idea to follow up the AIDS documentary with a rape documentary, so I caught up on the new season of “Girls.” I’ve read a lot of criticism of this show, but I always try to remember most TV critics are older white men. Still, no matter who you are, if you can’t relate to some of the things in “Girls,” then I think you didn’t have a 20s. You went from being a teenager right into your 30s.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

