The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Stomp the yard

3 Comments

Yeah, so, I don’t do yard work.

“I think I’ll do some gardening.” – Something only Bizarro Sonia would say.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, I love a beautiful yard, but I’m a lazy piece of crap who doesn’t want to do the work to make it happen. We rent a house in San Francisco. It’s a great place. We love it. It doesn’t have a front yard, but it does have a nice big front patio and a great deck with a terrific view. See?

deck

Way over on the left? That’s the San Francisco Bay.

I’m cool with doing things to make the front patio and deck nice. It’s got a kick-ass grill and a few chairs, and I’ve got a couple of bird feeders out there. The Spawn and I love to watch the birds. I’d love to get a bird bath and a couple of plants. We don’t spend a lot of time hanging out on the patio or deck, because we live in San Francisco and it’s kinda cold and foggy. We get about 10 warm sunny days a year. We do enjoy that view on a daily basis, and it’s quite lovely at night, too.

Sadly, we spend even less time in the backyard. It’s mainly tanbark and a few planter boxes that someone who is into gardening could do a lot with. When I do go back there, it’s usually to walk Homer around and let him do his business. Lately, I’ve been letting the Spawn walk around back there with us, which really makes me think we should do something with our backyard so he can play back there. For example, one of those big planter boxes might make a nice sandbox. Something for us to think about, I guess.

So anyway, like I said, I’m not a yard work person, so imagine my joy when I saw these beautiful flowers in our backyard.

image

Orange! My favorite! These fabulous orange flowers are creeping in from the neighbor’s yard and through our fence. It’s so great. We get to enjoy these beautiful flowers, and we didn’t have to do yard work to get them. Win!

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “Stomp the yard

  1. Those are nasturtiums, and you can eat them (the flowers, and possibly the leaves — look the latter up). They’re good in salads, a little bit peppery. L. loves eating them plain. Encourage Spawn to give them a try. 🙂

  2. I want free deck flowers!

  3. I will definitely give them a try!

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

