The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

No parking zone

4 Comments

Yeah, so, the parking situation at my office leaves a lot to be desired.

We don’t have a parking lot. We have to park on the street. Now, some people in the office (the executives) park their cars on the main street and acquire parking tickets on a weekly basis. I guess they make a lot of money and don’t care. The rest of us park our cars on the side streets because we don’t make executive money.

I feel like the side streets are fine. I’ve never felt unsafe or anything like that, but there is a huge creep factor, especially when it gets dark earlier. The main problem with where we park is it is basically a dump now. People are just dumping stuff there all the time now, and it’s pretty gross. I’ve actually seen a pile of needles out there. I’ve written about the illegal dumping here and here and here and here and here.

image

Lookin’ good, Oakland.

Now, there is someone living in the area where we park our cars. There’s a little trailer — and I mean little, they can’t stand up in the trailer — and there is a couple living in it. Surrounding their trailer are a ton of shopping carts and a few baby strollers filled with random crap, including board games.

image

That’s valuable parking real estate.

They’ve been there for a few weeks now. Around the corner from this trailer, a cop sits at a four-way stop sign and busts people so not coming to a complete stop. He’s there a few times a week. Also, as I mentioned at the beginning of this post, the executives are getting parking tickets on a weekly basis. This means that most likely the police know these people are living here and they are not doing anything about it.

I have yet to see this couple, but a few coworkers have. I feel bad for the couple. There is a homeless encampment down the street from us, under a freeway overpass. There are several tents set up. Maybe this couple is not welcome there, or maybe they feel it is not safe, and have set up by our office? I’m curious about what has happened to them. According to the office rumor mill, these folks have smashed a few car windows and stolen things. This has not happened to me, because there is jack shit in my car. If they break in, they will be disappointed.

“Dammit! We went through all this trouble for a baby seat, a Herbie Hancock CD and a yoga mat.”

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

4 thoughts on “No parking zone

  1. The animal welfare organization I volunteer with often gets help requests from the homeless encampment here. We take them dog food and leashes and straw and stuff. It makes me sad too! But they take better care of their dogs than some of the assholes who have homes.

    • That reminds me of when I was looking to get a dog, before Homer. I wanted to adopt and a lot of pet adoption places wouldn’t let me adopt a dog because I worked in an office and was away for 8 hours a day. I replied, “So only stay-at-home parents and the homeless can adopt then?” They did not answer me. The homeless are good dog owners. I learned something today.

  2. Pingback: I hope I’m invited to the housewarming party | The Sonia Show

  3. Pingback: In the line of fire | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

