The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Radio days

2 Comments

Yeah, so, since we bought our Honda Civic last year we’ve had satellite radio. We got to listen to music, comedy and news like rich people. We were living the dream.

We got some crazy good deal for the first year or so. But, eventually, the good deal went away, and the folks at Sirius/XM didn’t want to negotiate a new good deal with us, so we had to go back to listening to the regular ol’ radio like poor people.

The first day or two without our satellite radio wasn’t a big deal. On the way home from work, I listen to NPR, because I’m totally smart and liberal, you guys. But I really missed the satellite radio in the mornings.

I’ve written before about how terrible morning radio shows are. My feelings have not changed. Morning radio shows are fuckin’ awful. They almost never play music, and they spend a lot of time talking about “Dancing with the Stars” and “The X Factor.” One of the morning shows still does prank calls. I know, right?

For the first few mornings I was able to entertain myself (because morning radio is not entertaining) by trying to figure out which morning shows have changed, because they change every few months in the Bay Area.

“Oh, he’s on this station now. Oh, that one station got rid of her, and now she’s doing traffic on this show. Whatever happened to those guys? I guess they got canned.”

But the novelty of that wore off after two mornings. After that, I entertained myself during my morning commute by beating myself up for not remember to bring my iPod.

So, this went on for about two weeks, but then guess who came crawling back to us? The fine folks at Sirius/XM broke down and called us. “Please, baby. Take us back.” They offered us a great deal, and now we are back to listening to the radio like rich people … for the next five months until this deal expires.

And now, what you’ve all been waiting for: Cute Spawn photos!

underthetable

The Boy doesn’t care, but it’s probably really dirty under the table. We should sweep more often.

The Boy and his nannyshare buddy Jamie are too cool for preschool.

The Boy and his nannyshare buddy Jamie are too cool for preschool.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

2 thoughts on “Radio days

  1. Radio seriously blows. I had to rent a car today and for some reason I couldn’t get NPR to pick up so I listened to Frankie and The Skeeve or some equally terrible show. I really don’t know how there is still an audience for that stuff.

  2. We had Sirius once upon a time. But alas, we are poor people too. The sad part is the setting option is still on our radio. So when I’m switching between FM1, FM2, and AM, there is still that Sirius promo in between. It’s like a constant dagger in my heart.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

