The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Steak out

2 Comments

Yeah, so, every night on my way home from work I pass a billboard for a TV show called “Rake,” starring Greg Kinnear.

rake

Remember when you used to host “Talk Soup,” Greg Kinnear? You were so funny. Also, I liked you in “Little Miss Sunshine.”

Every time I pass this billboard I have three thoughts:

1) I bet that show is going to be terrible, and I’m not going to watch it.

2) He should put the steak on the eye that actually has the bruise.

3) Do people really put steaks on black eyes? If they do, WTF?

I have had a lot of black eyes in my day. I bump into a lot of doors. I have never put a cut of meat on a black eye. I thought that was something they only did in cartoons. Meat is kinda expensive. Are people really putting meat on their bruises? Why don’t they just use an ice pack? If they have to use food, why not a pack of frozen peas, corn or peas and corn?

I did some Googling, and putting steak on a black eye is a terrible idea and not something that would really help a bruise. You are exposing yourself to bacteria, and it’s a waste of food.

Maybe Greg Kinnear is playing a mentally handicapped person, who thinks that first aid tips from cartoons really work? He probably also thinks he can run on air if he doesn’t look down, right?

Wrong. More Googling reveals that the show is about “an outspoken and self-destructive criminal defense lawyer takes on the most challenging cases.”

Oh goodie! It’s another lawyer show, you guys! Another lawyer show about a man who is smart enough to graduate from law school but thinks that he should use nice cut of meat as an ice pack.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

2 thoughts on “Steak out

  1. As soon as I saw the photo I thought, “he needs to put that on the other eye!” But after reading your post I think neither the show nor the meat sound like good ideas.

  2. This is exactly what I thought & I was just Googleing to try to figure out what is going on with that ad. It is repulsive. I had assumed he had 2 black eyes and was transferring the steak back and forth between them.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

