The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Easter is still not a thing around here

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, at 2 1/2 years old, the Spawn still isn’t really into Easter, which is fine by me, because I’m not really into Easter, either.

coolguy

Calvin doesn’t give a crap about Easter, but he looks like he does.

Since no one cares about Easter in this house yet, I didn’t go crazy with a jam-packed Easter basket. I bought some plastic eggs and filled them with Cheddar Bunnies again, because if The Kid doesn’t ask for candy, why give it to him? Also, more for us. I also put a pair of sunglasses and a couple of pinwheels in there, because they are shiny, and they spin. Kids love that shit.

spinningWe went to my aunt and uncle’s house in Antioch, which – for the uninformed – is a city in northern California that’s not San Francisco or Oakland. It’s the East East Bay, and it was in the 80s there. So, The Boy didn’t bother to hunt for eggs (maybe next year), but he did get to go swimming.

pooltime

Hanging out at the pool with Grandma.

Mighty, mighty good man David is traveling for work (he’s gone until May 1!), and he flew out today. We skipped Easter dinner, because we wanted to get home so he could get organized before his trip. Also, we had a pretty full DVR, so we had some serious TV watching to get in before he split town. Priorities, people! We didn’t prepare some sort of Easter feast because Easter, whatever, but we got burritos from La Corneta, which I think is one of the best taquerias in San Francisco, so no complaints here.

So, yeah, David is traveling for work. He’s going to be gone for 11 days. He’s traveling through Germany, England and PARIS. He’s going to be in our honeymoon city without me! Le sigh.

That’s a long time to be away. I think it might be the longest he’s been away since we met, and certainly the longest he’s been away since Calvin was born. He’s been away for work before. I think once he was gone for about a week. It sucks. We miss him.

We’re pretty OK during the week. We get a little routine down. Every night when we get home, Calvin will search the house for David, and I’ll tell him that Daddy will see him later. Then we have dinner, watch “Super Why,” take a bath, and we’re cool. The weekends are tougher. The school routine goes out the window, and after a few hours The Kid is so over me. We will make it work, though. We keep busy. We do fun stuff.

A tip of my hat to single parents, though, because single parenting is tiring. I always have this grand idea that I’m going to watch movies and binge watch a bunch of TV shows when David is away. The truth is The Kid goes to bed at 8, and then I do all the things I need to do – prepare lunches for the next day, laundry, dishes, shower – and then I’m exhausted and in bed by 9:30 and falling asleep with an Entertainment Weekly on my face.

I know what you are thinking, and yeah, where’s my reality show? I’m so fascinating.

 

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

