The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Down with the sickness

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, our household is down with the sickness.

I spent my weekend trapped under a sick toddler. How was your weekend?

This past weekend, we were all sick. The Kid was sick. Mighty, mighty good man David was sick. I was sick. Only the one in the house who wasn’t sick was the dog, Homer. Lucky dog.

I'm totally healthy!

I’m totally healthy, and this is the best weekend of my life.

Since we were all sick, we spent the entire weekend trapped in our house, which is about as fun as it sounds. Let’s look at the bright side of this situation:

  • We didn’t spend any money.
  • We got to watch all the baseball.
  • We got to spend quality time together as a family. (Hahahahahahahaha)
Meds.

Meds.

The downside?

  • We watched a ton of “Thomas the Tank Engine” on Netflix streaming. [Be on the lookout for a full blog post about “Thomas” in the near future. I have thoughts.]
  • Cough syrup is not as tasty as a beer.
  • WE WERE SICK.

I’m impressed that we were able to make it through the weekend without driving each other completely nuts. It’s a lot to ask of a toddler to hang out in the house with his folks all weekend long. He was going stir crazy, for sure. We tried to occupy his mind with more than just Thomas the Tank Engine. We tried iPad games. We don’t let The Kid spend a lot of time on the iPad or our phones. In fact, he doesn’t really know how to use them at all, so this was all new to him. Big thanks to Marie from “Cheaper Than Therapy” for the “Endless Alphabet” app recommendation. It was an educational way to kill a little time.

homerslumberparty

Some psycho is stalking their slumber party!

I talk about being sick a lot, huh? Sorry about that.

Here’s a rant for you: On Monday night I wanted to order some Thai food delivery, because I thought some spicy food would be good for us, and by “us” I mean David and myself. Calvin only wants to eat chicken, pasta and toast these days. Maybe he’s on some special diet that I don’t know about that he read in Us Weekly. Well, it’s working. He looks great. He will get back to his original weight of 9 pounds, 1 ounce in no time.

So, I placed the order around 7:45 p.m., knowing that the food wouldn’t arrive until 8:45 p.m. Guess what time the food arrived? 10 p.m. 10 P.M.! And that’s after we called the restaurant and the fine folks at GrubHub to complain. (GrubHub was super cool about it and kicked us a $25 credit for our next order.)

When the delivery guy finally showed up, he said, “Sorry. We were really busy.”

Don’t care, dude. A lot of restaurants are busy, but they still deliver their food on time or — gee — kinda close to on time. I call bullshit on that excuse. I can’t believe the restaurant, Sweet Basil Thai in the Mission, is busy, because the food was bland. Thai food should never be bland. If that crap restaurant is busy, then they should consider themselves lucky, because there are a ton of awesome places to eat in San Francisco. I chose poorly. I wish I had an extra set of hands so I could give that restaurant four thumbs down.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

