The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Three

8 Comments

Yeah, so, my boy is three years old today.

These are the stickers we had made for Calvin's birthday this year.

These are the stickers we had made for Calvin’s birthday this year.

I know, right? THREE!

egg

Then.

Now.

Now.

We’re not planning anything too crazy for his birthday. He’s made it clear that crowds are not his bag. Maybe next year he will care that’s it’s his birthday. Right now, he probably thinks every day is his birthday. Spoiled kid.

Last year, we hosted a birthday party at home, which proved to be a little stressful.  Some people have asked me what his birthday party theme is. The theme “Small party: Let’s keep this simple, you guys.” I’m sure next year the theme will be Batman or something. This year, we are having pizza at the Skipolini’s in Clayton with the grandparents, great-grandparents, Michelle, Tony and his cousin Lucy. Small party – sticking to the theme. The Skipolini’s in Clayton has redone their outside seating. It’s really nice, and there’s a play area for kids. We did a test run a few weeks, and it went well, so we’re all set. Back when I lived in Concord, I picked Skipolini’s as my birthday dinner location. Now it’s going to be Calvin’s birthday spot.

I’ve written a lot about Calvin here. I refer to him as “The Spawn,” “The Kid,” “The Boy.” But ultimately, he’s My Boy, and he is a really good kid. I hope that comes across in my posts. He’s a sweet kid. He’s a funny kid. He likes to make people laugh, and he loves to laugh, too. He’s all about repeating everything we say right now. They call it “repeating,” but I like to think he’s working on his impressions. He’s very affectionate. He loves to give high fives and hugs. When all three of us sit on the couch together, he likes us all to sit really close together and squish him in the middle. Sometimes, when it’s just the two of us on the couch, he will reach out and hold my hand while watching “Curious George.”

I consider myself so lucky to have Calvin. He’s good people.

Happy birthday, Calvin! You are my favorite.

 

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

8 thoughts on “Three

  1. What a cutie! Yes, I have a 7 month old and I SWEAR, he only came out yesterday. Before I know it, he too will be 3. Time is busy flying… 😛

  2. Thats a smart idea to keep his birthday nice and simple if that is what he is most comfortable with. Nothing worse than an overwhelmed and tired birthday boy! He is very cute. I love his round cheeks! Very huggable!

  3. Happy birthday to the first blog baby I remember being born!

  4. I nominated you for the Leibster Award because I love your blog 🙂

  5. Pingback: 45 | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

