The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

OMG RAIN!

3 Comments

Yeah, so, it’s been raining nonstop for 24 hours in the Bay Area, which means everyone is losing their damn minds.

There are several hashtags, so you know it’s serious. #stormageddon #hellastorm #BayAreaStorm #deathstorm14 #stormwatch #itsrainingmen OK, that last one wasn’t really a hashtag, but I think you get the idea.

The storm was serious enough that most of the school districts in the Bay Area canceled school for the day. Calvin’s preschool did, too. I know, what you are thinking? Californians are such weather wussies. To be fair, there was a lot of rain. There was flooding all around San Francisco. Also, it was really windy outside, and a lot of neighborhoods lost power. Plus, it was so cold that I had to wear socks.

My bird bath runneth over. #hellastorm

My bird bath runneth over. #hellastorm

So, due to severe weather, preschool was canceled. The Boy and I spent the entire day in the house, because – not only was the weather crap so going to a park was a bad idea – but I had to work.

Gone are the days when I would spend an entire rainy day watching movies I wanted to see while sitting under a blanket on the couch. Now I spend an entire rainy day with “Curious George” streaming on Netflix, so my son can watch it, while I write copy about business cards. Good times.

By the way, if someone ever asks me “What is the key to parenting?” I could answer with some bullshit about love and patience, but the honest answer is Netflix Streaming.

Working from home when The Boy is home is twice the work. I’m writing content for all kinds of projects, plus I’m trying to keep the kid entertained. It’s exhausting. I’m trying to make sure that he doesn’t hurt himself or the dog, or burn the house down, while still trying to work. He watches some “Curious George.” We read a book. He plays with his cars. We read a book. He chases the dog. I chase him chasing the dog. We read another book. He watches more “George.” For some reason, I thought he would like it if I taped paper up to the glass door and let him draw. I was right.

drawing

And in between all that, I try to get some work done. I tend to finish everything I need to, so that’s good. I feel bad for The Boy during days like today. It sucks to be cooped up in the house all day, and his only playmate (me) is distracted.

Mighty, mighty good man David works from home so usually we are able to kinda tag team watching Calvin during the work day; however, David is traveling for work again this week. He’s in LA, where I’m sure it’s 78 degrees and sunny even at night.

When David is away is my time to watch depressing documentaries at night after The Boy goes to bed. Last night, I watched the second episode of “Luther” starring Idris Elba, because I like cop shows. Also, Idris Elba. Sigh.

Tonight, I will be listening to episode 11 of “Serial,” because I’m addicted to it. Oh, that reminds me, if you like podcasts, David and I are podcasters now. All the kids are doing it. You can learn more about our podcast, “Old Movies, New Beer,” riiiight here.

 

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “OMG RAIN!

  1. I live in SoCal. Commuting to work takes an additional hour if it rains. The drama is real here 🙂 Also, I second Netflix streaming, haha.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

