The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Team Sonia

3 Comments

Yeah, so, I’m doing OK, you guys.

I had the mastectomy on Wednesday afternoon, and preliminary test results show that my lymph nodes are clean! I should get the final test results on Thursday. Assuming the final results say the nodes are clean, too, that means no chemo or radiation for me, so I’ve got that going for me.

The surgery went well. No surprises. The good doctor biopsied three lymph nodes, instead of just one like last time, and all three were clean. I don’t know if you’ve ever had surgery before, but it is anxiety-inducing to say the least. Mighty, mighty good man David came up with a most excellent distraction, creating a Team Sonia album on Facebook.

teamsonia-bigheads

teamsonia-bus

teamsonia-grumpy

teamsonia-han

teamsonia-homer

teamsonia-hunter

teamsonia-david

Friends and family contributed to Team Sonia throughout the day, and David shared the images with me in the hospital. It was a great distraction, and it really cheered me up. Thank you to everyone who participated. Every image was awesome. To see the entire album, click here.

The recovery is going well so far. David is really good about doling out my meds so I’m staying on ahead of the pain. I’ve had a lot of delicious food because my friends organized a meal train, and they are excellent cooks on top of being excellent company when they visit. I sleep a lot. I had a followup doctor appointment on Monday, and just a short walk from the car to the exam room was completely exhausting.

A room with a view.

A room with a view.

Calvin stayed with my mom until Sunday evening, and he’s been very sweet since coming home. He doesn’t understand what’s going on, but he is being gentle with me. He kisses my forehead and likes to get close on the couch and hold my hand.

holdinghands

I’m surrounded by beautiful flowers and gift baskets from friends, family and coworkers. I am truly overwhelmed by all the love and support; all the people who have texted and emailed asking to help and checking in on us. I feel really loved, grateful and lucky. I thank you with everything I got. And, of course, I want to give a special, big, fat thank you to David who is doing all the work around here. It takes a special man to empty your drains and not be totally grossed out by you. Seriously, David deserves a medal. He’s a hero.

 

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “Team Sonia

  1. Team Sonia for life! Glad Calvin is being gentle with you 🙂

  2. Pingback: I’m a Kaiser fan girl | The Sonia Show

  3. Pingback: F Breast Cancer: F This Movie’s 18-Hour Podcast-A-Thon | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

