The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Fear factor

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, my biggest fear is that something will happen to my little family.

My second biggest fear is that a spider will touch me or even look at me. Eww. No.

So anyway, I love my boys so much, and the idea of anything happening to our happy, little family scares the crap out of me, which is why I agreed to chemo. I want to be around for a long time, and I want my family to stay together. We like being together. It’s gross cute.

Bundled into my biggest fear is that David will leave me. Of course, this is ridiculous. David would never leave me. He’s an amazing man, who for some stupid reason really, really loves me. *whispers* Sucker.

Well, I guess a more accurate description would be to say that I subconsciously fear that David will leave me. I don’t walk around all the time thinking David will leave me, but I have nightmares about it, because my brain is a stupid, insecure asshole. Sometimes, I tell David about the nightmares, and he mocks me for having them and then reassures me that I’m a silly person.

One night, he was quietly reading in bed, and I interrupted him, because he can’t have a peaceful moment to himself, without his busybody wife, kid or dog ruining it.

Me: “What are you reading?”

David: “How to pick up chicks.”

Me: “Oh good.”

David: “Actually, it’s the rules to a board game called Necromancer. It’s the opposite of how to pick up chicks. So, I think you’re good.”

David is the best.

sunset

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

