The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

She bangs

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, I’ve had the same haircut and color for about 7 years. I figured right now would be a great time to try something different … especially since I’m starting chemo in March and all my hair might fall out anyway. What do I have to lose, right? I mean, besides my hair.

So, I got bangs.

igotbangs

This gif is for good buddy Katie, who really, really love “The Kroll Show.”

I got bangs, and I changed up the color a little bit. It’s still red, but it’s more brown red than red red.

bangs

Of course, I did go into this haircut with a pretty good idea of how it would look. I bought a wig a few weeks ago in preparation for chemo. It’s a cute, little wig. At the urging of good buddy Jess, I got a wig with bangs, because it would hide the fact that’s it a wig better, not to mention it would hide my lack of eyebrows.

I tried on the wig, and it was so cute that I thought, “I should get my haircut like this right now.” I immediately sent the photo out to my group of ladies for input, and the decision was unanimous: It was cute. My idea was this: When all my hair falls out, I can transition to the wig, and it won’t be such a shock. I brought my wig into my regular stylist and asked her to cut and color my hair to look like the wig. She did an amazing job. It looks a lot like the wig – so much so that some of my best friends saw the photo and assumed it was the wig.

I asked Calvin what he thought of my new hair, and he just pointed and said, “Hair.” He is not wrong. It is hair. I’ll take that as a compliment. David says he likes it, which is not surprising because he has always had a thing for Velma from “Scooby-Doo.”

amelie

When I look in the mirror, I think I look adorable like this.

velma

But the truth is I really look like this.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

