The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Can you wig it?

3 Comments

Yeah, so, today was the first day I wore one of my wigs in public.

I’ve been worrying that my wigs look like wigs, and that I will walk outside and everyone will think, “Who is she fooling? That’s wig.” And then they will stare at me or possibly try to snatch my wig off my head and run away with it, because apparently I think people are going to bully me like I’m in a middle school again.

I had a few doctor appointments at Kaiser, so slapped on my Jolie wig and headed out the door. I don’t wanna brag, BUT my old hair (my real hair) always gets a lot of compliments at Kaiser. All the nurses and receptionists love my hair. They comment on it every time. They love the red, and they love the cut. The last couple of times their compliments were bittersweet, because I knew that my hair was going to go bye-bye.

I walked in to Kaiser in my wig, and as I was getting on the elevator a Kaiser employee said, “I love your hair. The color looks really great on you.” Instead of pretending it was my real hair, and saying thank you like a normal person, I immediately blurted out, “It’s a wig!”

Ugh. Such a dork.

Of course, I didn’t stop there. Apparently, I need to share my life story: “This is my first time going out in my wig, so your compliment means a lot.”

“I had no idea at all,” she said, politely. “That’s a great wig. It looks amazing on you.”

I got off the elevator feeling so confident. I walked into the oncology department and the receptionist said, “You look so beautiful today.”

“It’s my wig!”

I never learn.

“It’s beautiful. You look like a model,” she lied. She works in the oncology department. I’m sure she sees thousands of wigs, and tells every single patient that they look like a model in their chosen wig. Still, it’s a nice compliment. I’ll take it.

I’m sure that the more I wear the wigs, the more confident I will get about wearing them in public. Unless I’m wearing this one, because I don’t think I’m fooling anyone with this wig.

orangewig

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “Can you wig it?

  1. They aren’t lying! You look wonderful………….My dearest friend had to get fitted for a wig because of her treatment and I tell you, if I didn’t already know the “truth”, I couldn’t in a million years tell. She, like you, looks awesome.

  2. Your wigs are amazing! I don’t know where you get yours but Geisha Wigs are really good too 🙂 x

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

