The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Watch what happens

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, now that dealing with chemotherapy is my full-time job, I’m trying to find good ways to spend my time. I mean, other than eating and sleeping, which are fabulous ways to spend my time.

I’m trying to watch more movies and updating the Netflix queue. If I don’t, I’ll pretty much end of watching “Law & Order” marathons on WE. David thinks watching “Law & Order” marathons is one step above putting it on the Bass Fishing Channel and watching it all day. but I think think he is way off base. Watching “Law & Order” is a perfectly acceptable thing to do while recovering from chemotherapy … or a hang over … or just for fun, because “Law & Order” is awesome. Chung chung.

I finally finished my “Prime Suspect” box set. If you love cop shows and/or Helen Mirren (and I love both), then “Prime Suspect” is for you. Not technically a movie, but each episode is movie length, so let’s pretend it counts.

I also watched “They Came Together” at the recommendation of F This Movie. It’s a spoof of romantic comedies starring Amy Poehler and Paul Rudd. It is written by Michael Showalter and David Wain, and they also wrote “Wet Hot American Summer,” which I have never seen but everyone can’t shut the fuck up about and it’s 14 years. “They Came Together” was funny. I’ve watched a lot of romantic comedies in my day, and this one hits all the right targets. Of course, romantic comedies are an easy target, but I laughed a lot. If you like romantic comedies, you will really enjoy it. Also, Amy Poehler and Paul Rudd are adorable.

Next up in the queue is “In The Heat of the Night,” starring Sidney Poitier, which strangely I have never seen. I have always wanted to see it, hence why it’s been bumped up in the queue. Another older movie I haven’t seen that I’m thinking about bumping up in the queue: “Funny Girl.” Thoughts?

In the evenings, we are watching pretty much whatever Calvin wants to watch, which means we are watching a lot of “Curious George” and (ugh) “Clifford.” Oh man, “Clifford” is sooo boring. It is not as cute as “Curious George.” Also, Clifford is voiced by John Ritter, so every time he speaks I think, “it’s sad that John Ritter died.” Constant reminders of death are not something I look for in a children’s TV show. Calvin doesn’t know who John Ritter is, and he thinks Clifford is rad.

I probably should use this recovery time as an opportunity to catch up on some newer releases, but the lure of these older movies are too strong. I could also use this time to read, but I don’t really have the attention span for it. I keep referring to myself as “Short Attention Span Theater,” which if you don’t remember was a clip show hosted by Jon Stewart when Comedy Central first started. You’re welcome. When I try to read my mind keeps wandering off or I fall asleep. Maybe this is the dreaded “chemo brain” that people warned me about, which is very similar to “pregnancy brain.” Or, maybe I’m just a product of too much TV, and now I’m one of those people that thinks reading is for suckers.

Also, there’s baseball. Baseball, you guys!

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

