The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

I like to watch

3 Comments

Yeah, so, since I’m all about chemo right now and not working, I’ve got some time on my hands.

Instead of using my time wisely such as cleaning the house, researching a cure for cancer or writing my memoirs, I’m watching movies and TV shows. Here’s a few of the things I’ve watched lately, because I’m sure you are aching to know.

North By Northwest” – A surprisingly fun Alfred Hitchcock movie with Cary Grant being very Cary Granty. Also, Eva Marie Saint is hubba hubba, hot stuff.

North-By-Northwest-Gif-Image-north-by-northwest-31644733-500-272

In The Heat Of The Night” – The 1967 movie starring Sidney Poitier and Rod Steiger, not the TV show starring Archie Bunker. Really great movie. I’m surprised I hadn’t seen it before.

Bloodline” – It’s one of those Netflix originals. A family drama/mystery that really sucks you in from the first episode because Netflix is all about TV shows that encourage binge watching. I’m more about binge eating than binge watching, but it’s got a great cast, including Kyle Chandler and Sissy Spacek. The truth is I’ll watch just about anything starring Kyle Chandler, because he was Coach Taylor on “Friday Night Lights,” and I think he’s kinda dreamy.

kyle

I’m also watching “Game of Thrones,” because unlike constant downer “The Walking Dead,” “Game of Thrones” can be depressing but at least it’s not boring. Mighty, mighty good man David and I are watching “Mad Men,” but we are currently two episodes behind, even though the show just started and only three episodes have aired. I guess I’ve been too busy watching the San Francisco Giants not be very good at baseball to watch “Mad Men.” I’m sure we will catch up this week.

I have chemo round #3 on Friday, which means The Kid is going to be staying with my mom this weekend. I’ll be taking all the anti-nausea meds and sleeping. I might be awake long enough to watch a movie or two. We own, but still have not watched, “X-Men: Days of Future Past.” We also have “Boyhood” via Netflix, just sitting on the shelf begging to be watched.

Last chemo time around I was able to stay awake long enough to watch “Captain America: Winter Solider,” which was really entertaining. I really loved the first one, and I was not disappointed by this sequel. Good stuff. We also watch “Guardian of the Galaxy,” which I also really enjoyed because I’m a human being, and I think pretty much all human beings and some animals love “Guardians of the Galaxy.” Minor spoiler alert coming! I could have done without the opening scene in which the hero’s mom is obviously dying of cancer. The scene made me cry, and I sobbed to David, “I thought this was a comedy.”

The next night we watched “Song of the Sea,” a beautifully animated movie from Ireland, which also featured in an opening scene with a dying mom. At that pointed I begged David to stop picking movies with dead moms. In fact, I’m starting to think movies should have a warning label on the DVD cover: This film contains foul language, sexual situations and a dying mom.

dyingmoms

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

3 thoughts on “I like to watch

  1. Pingback: Random thoughts about Miss Fisher, Daniel Tiger and more | The Sonia Show

  2. Pingback: The watch list | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

