The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Giraffe Day

4 Comments

Yeah, so, I fed a giraffe yesterday.

I don’t like to use the term “bucket list” because I’m not dying, so let’s just say that feeding a giraffe was on my list of things I’d really want to do (along with feeding penguins). Feeding penguins seems damn-near impossible to make happen – unless a plan a trip to Antarctic or the Galapagos Islandsand until they open a plush hotel near the penguins I’m not doing that. Feeding giraffes, it turns out, was pretty easy to make happen.

Everyone knows that Sunday was Father’s Day, but it was also World Giraffe Day. And, to celebrate World Giraffe Day, the Oakland Zoo was selling tickets to feed the giraffes. The tickets were $10. I bought them online. It was that easy. (FYI: In order to feed the giraffes at the San Francisco Zoo, you have to rent of one of their party spaces and invite like 80 of your closest friends and spend thousands of dollars.)

Mighty, mighty good man David is such a good sport. It was Father’s Day, and the day really should have been all about him and doing whatever he wanted to do, but he was willing to spend it doing something that was on my list of things to do. He’s a nice man. My brother-in-law Tony is a good sport, too, because he spent his Father’s Day at the zoo, too, with my sister and the girls. (Big thanks to the Mansfield-Hicks family and my mom for spending the afternoon with us at the zoo. Feeding the giraffes means something special to me, and I was so happy they were there.)

So, yeah, the giraffes were beautiful. They were so sweet and very gentle. They are amazing animals.

giraffe1

giraffe2

giraffe3

I was worried that Calvin wouldn’t be into it, or worse, be afraid of the giraffes. It was opposite. He was so excited. He ran up to them and immediately started feeding them. He wasn’t afraid of them at all. The Boy really loves animals.

giraffe-calvin

You can’t see it, but Calvin has the biggest smile on his face.

In case you are wondering, I didn’t cry in front of the giraffes this time. Instead, I cried after where they couldn’t see me, so I wouldn’t be embarrassed.

 

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

4 thoughts on “Giraffe Day

  1. I love the pic of you and the giraffe admiring each other. It looks like you are having a special moment 🙂

  2. Pingback: Buh bye, 2015 | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

