The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

The watch list

1 Comment

Yeah, so, I’m back at work this week.

See? Here’s me totally single white female-ing my coworker Paul.

singlewhitefemaled

Being back at work after being out of the office for almost six months has been a little strange, but good. I’m excited to get back to normal (or as normal as I get anyway) and get back to a routine. Everyone at work has been super awesome while I was out, filling in for me, and they have been very kind since I have returned. Even the Office Busybody has been respectful and welcomed me back without some crazy comments about my hair. That was a little disappointing. I was hoping to get a really good blog post out of her reaction. Oh well.

So anyway, now that I’m back at work, that means I’m not sitting around watching TV shows and movies all day. I’m back to screwing around on the internet all day. Wheeeee. I watched a lot of stuff while I was recovering, and I compiled a handy list, just in case you are interested.

TV

There are a lot of other movies and TV shows I watched but they fall into the “regular viewing schedule,” so they didn’t make the list. TV shows such as “Game of Thrones,” “The Daily Show,” “Inside Amy Schumer” are all TV shows I would be watching even if I wasn’t recovering from chemo all day. Same goes for some movies such as “Captain America: Winter Solider,” X-Men Days of Future Past and “Song of the Sea.” I would be watching those movies in the evening with David anyway.

I also didn’t include the occasional “Law & Order” episodes, because – duh – obviously I was watching “Law & Order” during recovery. Everyone watches “Law & Order” when they are sick at home. I’m pretty sure it’s a federal law, and it might soon be a constitutional amendment. It’s one of the hotly debated issues of the presidential election. Bernie Sanders is all for it, but Trump is against it. Trump is such a dick.

So anyway, here we go – these are the TV shows and movies that I watched during the day throughout my chemotherapy recovery. In other words, TV shows and movies that I watched when I would have normally been working.

  • Phantom Menace
  • Attack of the Clones
  • Revenge of the Sith
  • Star Wars
  • The Empire Strikes Back
  • Return of the Jedi
  • North By Northwest – An unexpectedly fun Hitchcock movie that I wrote about back in April.
  • Gentlemen Prefer Blondes – I had no idea this movie was so funny. Everyone remembers Marilyn Monroe in this movie, but I’m all about Jane Russell. She is awesome in this.
  • They Came Together – If you love Wet Hot American Summer, then you will really love They Came Together, a romantic comedy spoof with Amy Poehler and Paul Rudd.
  • Badlands – Not sure why I chose to watch this one, starring Martin Sheen and Sissy Spacek. It’s a good movie, but it wasn’t as great as I expected.
  • In The Heat Of The NightI wrote about this one in April, too.
  • Boyhood – Cool idea. Good performances.
  • Nightcrawler – I wrote about Nightcrawler riiight here.
  • Cabaret – I shared my thoughts about Cabaret in this blog post.
  • Roman Holiday – Audrey Hepburn is absolutely gorgeous in this movie, and Gregory Peck isn’t exactly hard to look at, either. A real charmer with an ending I did not expect.
  • Birdman – Everyone was talking about Michael Keaton in this movie, but I think Edward Norton steals the movie. He’s really great. I also think the movie went on about five minutes too long. It had a natural ending point, in my opinion, but then went on for some weird ending that is left open to interpretation.
  • Whiplash – Great performances and editing, but I wanted to love it more. I thought it was just OK. However, I understand why it won the Oscars it did.
  • The French Connection – Gene Hackman and Roy Schneider were the shit back in the day.
  • Top Five – Entertaining movie starring Chris Rock playing a comedian-turned-actor. I liked this one. It has funny moments, and I enjoyed the commentary on Hollywood and movies.
  • Laura – An oldie but a goodie. Plus, it’s got a young Vincent Price.
  • The Searchers – There’s a reason it’s a classic. If you haven’t seen it, you should see it.
  • Funny Girl – OK, so, I think Barbra Streisand is fabulous in the movie. I like the songs. But ultimately the relationship between Streisand and Omar Sharif falls flat for me. He’s kind of a jerk. Maybe that’s the point?
  • Wet Hot American Summer – I finally watched this for the first time. I know that everyone loves it, and it’s basically a cult classic now. While watching it I was amused but didn’t think it was THAT funny. However, the more I thought about it, the more I thought it was funny. It grew on me, and I think I would laugh even more if I watched it again. Which is why I watched …
  • Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp – I laughed quite a bit watching this. Also, Paul Rudd hasn’t aged. That’s weird.
  • Show Me A Hero (six-part miniseries) – You can watch this on HBO OnDemand right now. You should. It’s so great. I know that The Wire’s David Simon is behind it, and it reminds me a little bit of that great series in that it focuses on an issue – in this case, public housing – from all angles. Plus, as someone who used to work as a reporter and sat in many planning department and city council meetings, I found it very accurate.
  • Tig (documentary) – All about comedian Tig Notaro and how her breast cancer diagnosis changed her life and her career. Obviously, I can relate.
  • I Am Chris Farley (documentary) –This documentary is like an episode of “The Chris Farley Show:” “Hey, remember how funny Farley was? That was awesome.” It never explores his demons. I enjoyed watching it, because I love watching the old Farley clips, and hearing that he was a funny, nice guy from his friends and coworkers, but I didn’t learn that much about him.
  • The Wrecking Crew (documentary) – All those songs from the 1960s that you love? This band played on it. Interesting subject matter, but the documentary isn’t as well made as I would have liked.
  • Do I Sound Gay? (documentary) – I watched this, and I don’t remember the answer to the question in the title.
  • Whitey: The United States vs. James J. Bulger (documentary) – I thought this was going to be a documentary about how Whitey was on the run for 16 years and how they caught him. Instead it’s about Whitey and his ties to some FBI agents and FBI corruption, which I had no idea about. I guess I should try reading the news every once in a while.
  • Prime Suspect (seven seasons) – Helen Mirren is the best. However, Prime Suspect is a super bummer. Really depressing stuff. Lots of dead kids. Consider yourself warned.
  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (one season) – Did you like 30 Rock? Then you’ll like Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, too.
  • Catastrophe (six-episode season) – Catastrophe on Amazon was probably my best discovery. SO FUNNY!
  • Orange Is The New Black (three seasons) – It’s the binge-ist show on Netflix, yes?
  • Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries (two seasons) – It’s like Murder, She Wrote but set in the 1920s. The mysteries are not challenging, but the cast has a wonderful chemistry. It was a very enjoyable, easy-to-watch show. I went through it quickly, and I wrote about it riiight here.
  • Bloodline (one season) – Anything with Kyle Chandler is worth watching in my book. Also, Ben Mendelsohn gives an amazing performance in it. His performance is so great I’m sure it will NOT win an Emmy, because Emmy voters are idiots. I binged this show in just a few days, and I wrote about it back in April.
  • Chef’s Table (documentary series) – I have only watched two episodes of this six-part series, but it’s very interesting – focusing on innovative chefs and exploring how they became chefs and why they cook the way they cook.
  • Forks Over Knives (documentary) – This is the documentary my oncologist recommended to me, because he wanted me to switch to a vegan diet. It’s very compelling. I suspect quite a few folks have watched this documentary and changed their diets.
  • Vegucated (documentary) – Another documentary about vegan diets because I need documentaries to tell me what to eat.
  • Hungry For Change (documentary) – Interesting, but not as compelling as Forks Over Knives.

 

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

One thought on “The watch list

  1. Pingback: Buh bye, 2015 | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

