The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Rack ’em up

16 Comments

Yeah, so, here’s the latest update from Recovery Island: I’m all good.

I’m good, you guys. The surgery on Thursday went really well. There were no problems at all. I didn’t have a panic attack. I didn’t start crying. I didn’t have an allergic reaction to anything. The nurse even found a vein easily for my IV. I was at the hospital at 5:30 a.m., and I think I was home on the couch by 1 p.m.

Mighty, mighty good man David came to see after surgery in the recovery room and snapped a photo. He said this was the best I’ve looked in the recovery room after all my various surgeries. I was alert, not in pain and munching on a snack of graham crackers and apple juice boxes, which I’m pretty sure is the same snack my 4-year-old son gets every day at preschool.

Thumbs up to new boobs!

Thumbs up to new boobs!

I took the pain meds for a few days, but I’m off the good stuff now. Interestingly enough, the boobs were kinda sore, but the incision where they removed the port seemed to be the most painful. I suspect the boobs are used to surgeries, but the area where they port was is not used to it.

But, most importantly, the new boobs look pretty good.

rack

Nice rack, and by “nice” I mean “even.”

I got the bandages off today, and my boobs are even. They are still swollen, but they are the same size. No more tissue expander on the right side that’s as hard as a rock. No more uncomfortable port on the left. I’m living the dream. And while it sucks that I had a second mastectomy, and it sucks that I have two fake knockers, I am stoked to have two boobs that are even and the same size. I haven’t had that since I got knocked up in January 2011.

I’m so happy to have this last surgery over with. Now I just need to rest, heal and take all the antibiotics they give me to fight off any chance of infection. And when I’m ready, I’ve got a ton of tops and dresses that are ready to be worn after a long hiatus.

While I was on Recovery Island, mighty, mighty good boy Calvin stayed with my mom. He had an amazing time as always. He LOVES his Grandma. She’s his best friend.

Lining up rocks is fun!

Lining up rocks is fun!

Actually, one day he had too much fun, and he fell asleep between the living room and the kitchen.

This is the perfect spot for a nap.

This is the perfect spot for a nap.

While The Kid  was at Grandma’s place, I was chillin’ on the couch watching movies. David and I watched “The Avengers: Age of Ultron” and, well … it was fine. It’s a big ol’ entertaining mess. I didn’t love it. Coincidentally, I had rewatched “Guardians of the Galaxy” earlier that day, and it’s so great that “Ultron” kinda pales by comparison. I liked the first “Avengers” movie. I thought it was fun. I love the “Captain America” movies, and I’m looking forward to the next one. So, just in case you are keeping track at home, I love the “Captain America” movies and “Guardians of the Galaxy.” The rest of the Marvel movies are just fine.

So anyway, Monday was mighty, mighty good dog Homer’s birthday.

happybdayhomer

He’s 14. I know, right? He’s an elder statesman. To celebrate David made a burger just for Homer. Spoiled dog. Homer is such a good dog. He’s starting to show his age. He can’t see or hear as well as he used to. Homer crawls into our bed when we leave the house, and sometimes we’re home for more than an hour before he realizes we’re home. He’s having trouble going up and down the stairs in front of the house. David carries him down the stairs before taking him on his little walks. Homer has also been having accidents in the house without realizing that he’s doing it. Between Homer and trying potty train Calvin, we’re constantly cleaning up pee. Jealous?

ever

We are keeping a close eye on Homer. We don’t want him to be in any pain or suffering. And I don’t want him doing anything in which he can hurt himself, such as trying to jump up on the couch, etc. But he seems to be doing pretty good. He still gets frisky and asks us to throw around a toy for him. His nose still works great, because he is constantly stealing food from Calvin.

And that’s pretty much the update for now. I’m kickin’ it on Recovery Island for the rest of the week. I am almost through the third season of “Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries,” so I am taking suggestions for movies or TV shows to watch while I’m still recovering. Have you watched any of the new TV shows? I don’t think I’ve watch one new show.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

16 thoughts on “Rack ’em up

  1. Omg!! I am floored by your courage and awesome outlook! Your boobies look great! Kudos and have a super awesomely fabulous recovery! Muah! 🙂

  2. yeah for almost normalcy! I was just watching a couple of episodes of Luck and I’m intrigued. it’s on Amazon Prime. Dustin Hoffman and some other somewhat famous people I kinda recognize but can’t quite place. It’s about a horse racing track. I like Empire too. It’s so trashy, but entertaining. Happy recovery!

  3. Aw, so glad you’re recovering and things are getting back to normal.

    And for Homer: Who’s a good boy? Who’s a good boy?

  4. Glad to hear you’re recovering well.
    I just watched iZombie on Netflix, its cute and low key.
    If you can do subtitles, Hjordis is really cute and low commitment, just a few episodes.

  5. Nice post and yay 🙂 Just wanted to comment, liked the first avengers as well, not the second

  6. Pingback: Legends of the fall | The Sonia Show

  7. Pingback: The Art of Mentally Tidying Up | The Sonia Show

  8. Pingback: F Breast Cancer: F This Movie’s 18-Hour Podcast-A-Thon | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

