The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Pillow talk

1 Comment

Yeah, so, you guys want to talk about chemotherapy?

Me neither. Let’s talk about one of the side effects of chemotherapy. That’s fun.

So, one of the side effects of chemo is it put me in menopause. Wheeee! It’s not my favorite thing, but in terms of ongoing side effects, it’s livable. I mean, menopause was going to happen anyway, so big deal.

braceyourselves

I can handle menopause. Not getting my period anymore is kinda awesome, am I right, fellas? The biggest downside of menopause so far is the hot flashes. Hot flashes suck — especially in the middle of the night. Hot flashes in the middle of the night = waking up, and I hate waking up.

In order to keep the hot flashes to a minimum (or at least make it easier to go back to sleep after having one) I’m all about making the bedroom temp pretty chill, which sucks for mighty, mighty good man David, but he can throw an extra blanket on his side of the bed and be fine. The other thing I do is wake up hot and then flip the pillow to the cool side. Wake up hot, flip the pillow, repeat.

Well, I was flipping the pillow until I bought a new pillow. Not just any new pillow, you guys — a fancy $80 pillow (on sale for $40, because spending $80 would be ridiculous). It’s a memory foam pillow and it has some sort of gel thing that keeps it cool. Basically, it’s a chilled pillow or a “chillow” (I’m not clever enough to come up with that name; that was all good buddy Kate).

If you told 20-something Sonia that 40-something Sonia would spend $40 on a goddamn $80 pillow she would laugh in your face, toss back her tequila shot, write a bad check to pay for her drinks and pass out. Man, 20-something Sonia was fuckin’ rad.

So, yeah, I’m the kind of person that buys at $40 pillow now. Actually, I’m the kind of person who buys a $40 a pillow and then blogs about it.

worstever

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

One thought on “Pillow talk

  1. Pingback: Santa Achievement Unlocked | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

