The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Buh-bye, 2015

2 Comments

Yeah, so, bye 2015.

I could say that it’s been fun, but then I’d be a liar. This year hasn’t been my favorite for obvious reasons. Sure, there’s been some good times. I got to feed the giraffes. My mighty, mighty good boy Calvin is doing so great with all his behavioral and speech therapy. My mighty, mighty good man David is doing awesome at work. I saw “The Force Awakens.” In fact, I saw a ton of movies and TV shows. I went vegan and loved it. I sang a Michael Jackson song with some random dude on Bart. I’m cancer free. I got to wear a lot of wigs.

wigs2015

I’m just so over 2015, and so ready for 2016. I’m feeling happy, excited and optimistic for the new year. I know that making New Year’s resolutions is lame, but I’m making some anyway, because I’m like Janice in Accounting, I don’t give a fuck.

In 2016, my #1 New Year’s resolution is to be nice to myself. I’m pretty nice to everyone else. Fuck you, if you think I’m not. Seriously, ask anyone and they will tell you that I’m a nice lady. Anyone who says different is an asshole. I say things to myself that I would never say to anyone else. In the New Year, I am planning to stop and take a deep breath before I start beating myself up.

My other big resolution is to consume a little less and create a little more. Whether that means writing more blog posts, cooking and baking more dishes, working on a healthier body and mind with yoga, or just creating new memories with my favorite people, I’m hoping I’ll spend less time on social media reading what other people are doing and actually do some things myself.

I spent a lot of my time this year on the couch: recovering from a surgery, chemotherapy and another surgery. I spent a lot of time on social media, specifically Facebook. And with the election coming up, I think social media is about to get really ugly. It’s a good time to limit my social media time. It will just make me angry, and you won’t like me when I’m angry, because then I start crying, and you can’t understand anything I’m saying and then I say, “Forget it. I’m fine,” but it’s really not fine, and I ball up all my anger and push it down and release it the next time we get drunk together or I get passive aggressive with you by not liking your Instagram photos and Facebook statuses. “I’m not going to like that status! That’ll learn him! Jerk!”

I’ll still be on social media, because I’m not an animal. Plus, there is a lot of great stuff out there. But I want to make an effort to use social media more wisely and thoughtfully. I don’t want to waste an hour sitting on the couch scrolling through Facebook when I could be writing, cooking, baking, reading, podcasting, watching a great movie or TV show or – oh, I don’t know – talking to someone.

What I’m trying to say is this …. During the past year, I spent a lot of time thinking about how I want to spend my time. I’m pretty sure when I’m old and gray, I won’t be thinking, “I’m sure glad I spent all that time on Facebook reading articles that pissed me off and liking people’s statuses about how [insert minor annoyance/popular singer/movie/TV show] sucks.”

Are you guys making any New Year’s resolutions? I’d love to hear ’em!

I hope you all have a rad New Year’s Eve. We’re doing our usual thing, in which David recreates one of our meals that we had on our honeymoon and then we watch “The Thin Man.” And seriously, I hope you all have a happy and healthy 2016.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

2 thoughts on “Buh-bye, 2015

  1. Happy new year! I came across your blog randomly and I love the way you write and express yourself. I hope your 2016 will be a year filed with good beer and healthy boobs!

  2. Pingback: ‘Go kick the styrofoam heads around’ and other random things I’ve said today | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

