The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

‘Room’ service

5 Comments

Yeah, so, I saw “Room.”

Did you see “Room” yet? You should see “Room.” Stop reading this blog post, and see “Room.” I’ll wait …

If you haven’t seen it, let me break it down for you: Brie Larson plays a woman who was kidnapped and held in a single room (a shed outside) for seven years. She has a 5-year-old son (Jacob Tremblay) by her captor. The first half of the movie is set in the room. The second half is their life on the outside the room. That’s not a spoiler. It’s in the previews. See?

This is the best drama I’ve seen in years. I’m so glad that I watched it at home and not in a theater. I cried a lot. A lot. It hit me in all the feels. I cried because I was sad for them. I cried because I was so worried for them. I cried because I was so relieved. I cried because happy. I cried because I was truly moved.

Moved. That’s the word I’m looking for. The film moved me. It reached right into my chest and touched my heart. I can’t remember the last time a film did that. This movie is special.

I’m sure some of my feelings about the movie have to do with the boy being so close in age to my son, Calvin. The boy in the movie is 5, and Calvin is 4 1/2 years old. I can relate to the movie. I mean, I can’t relate to being kidnapped and held hostage in a shed for seven years; however, I can relate to raising a child who sees the world differently.

The boy in the movie isn’t autistic like my son. He’s spent his entire life in a single room. He is learning about the world, and he doesn’t always understand it. Calvin is an autistic boy who is also learning about the world, and he’s learning to communicate how he sees it. It’s not the same, but it’s relatable. I connected with “Room” in a way I haven’t connected with a movie in a really, really long time.

roomposter

The performances are so great. Larson is amazing, and she will most likely a well-deserved win an Oscar for her performance. Tremblay is so phenomenal in this movie. I’m surprised he wasn’t nominated, too. He is so great. There isn’t one false thing about his performance.

I don’t want spoil all the emotional beats in the film and explain all the ways that “Room” is the best, but I totally could. I could describe scene after scene and talk about why that scene is so powerful and meaningful, etc. I don’t want to do that. You will just have to trust me, and see it for yourself. Plus, that would be a really long blog post.

I know that “The Revenant” and “Spotlight” will win most of the Academy Awards. That’s fine, I guess. “Spotlight” is a really good movie about IMPORTANT STUFF. I haven’t seen “The Revenant,” but I’m sure it’s quite good, too. Leonardo DiCaprio looks really ugly in it, and apparently he fights a bear or something. That just screams “GIVE ME THE OSCAR!” But for me, “Room” is the best picture of the year. It may be the best picture I’ve seen in the past 10 years.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

5 thoughts on “‘Room’ service

  1. We have been wanting to see this, is it on-demand already? Did you read the book? Wondering how it compares although I’m sure the movie is great.

    • I didn’t read the book, so I can’t speak to how close it is. It IS on demand, but not to rent. You have to buy it for $17.99, and I’m glad I did so I can watch it again. 🙂

      • Awesome, we will have to check it out. It’s been right at the top of our watch list since they announced it. Thanks! And on a side note Benicia is awesome, move there. lol

  2. I’m glad the movie’s good. The book is phenomenal – I read it on a plane, cried like a baby. Guess I should see the film.

  3. Pingback: Six things I’m lovin’ – ‘Spotlight,’ podcasts, San Francisco and more | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

