The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Hair goals

2 Comments

Yeah, so, it was about a year ago that my hair started falling out.

I had completed my first round of chemo, and about two weeks later my hair started falling out. It sucked. While it didn’t physically hurt, it was emotionally draining. I was shedding all over the house for about a week or so before I shaved it off.

After that I wore a series of fabulous wigs, which were fun for a while.

wigs2015

My hair slowly started growing back in July when I started taxol, and I finally felt comfortable ditching the wigs by September. It was starting to get warm in San Francisco, and wigs are really hot. If you have never worn a wig, try one on and wear it when it’s 80 or 90 degrees. It kinda sucks.

I haven’t really had a hairstyle for a year. I’ve had wigs and then fuzzy hair. I felt like I still looked like someone who did chemo and was growing out their hair. This week I got my hair colored and cut, I feel like for the first time in a year like my hair has a style again. I don’t look like a former chemo patient. I look like someone who chose to have a pixie cut. I’m pretty happy about it.

hairstyle

I’ve been getting some compliments on my pixie cut – usually by ladies saying it’s cute and asking if I plan to keep it short. My answer has been “No, I plan to grow it back out to where it was pre-chemo.” But now I’m thinking about keeping it kinda short. Is that crazy? I’ve always felt like my face is too round (too fat) for a short haircut, but now I’m kinda like Janice in Accounting – I don’t give a fuck. Ginnifer Goodwin has been my hair goal. I think I’d be happy with it at that length. In fact, I really love her haircut.

Ginnifer-Goodwin

Do you have any hair goals? I’d love to hear ’em in the comments!

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

2 thoughts on “Hair goals

  1. I’m just amaze with your story, for real! I’m a student of nursing and your history has been very inspiring for me only with those lines. You took the pretty side of everything, and i think that’s something to admire. Please keep doing this! Many people need it. I read you all the time, but not all the time I want to write in english, i’m a little lazy haha, (I’m from Chile). many many good energy for you.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

