The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Prince

1 Comment

Yeah, so, Prince. Ugh, 2016, why you wanna treat me so bad?

I don’t know if I can fully articulate what Prince’s music means to me. Like most people my age, “1999” and “Purple Rain” were some of the first albums I owned. I listened to them on a loop. My sister Michelle and I used to dance Prince songs all the time in our bedroom, where a Prince poster hung on the wall.

This poster.

This poster.

My mom took me to see “Purple Rain,” even though I was way too young to be seeing it.  The story was a little over my head at the time, but the music … oh the music. The music was so amazing that it convinced me that “Purple Rain” was a really good movie. Listening to his music, I felt like I was getting away with something. It was so funky, but it was naughty, too. I liked it. I liked it a lot.

Prince and his music have been in my life since I was 8 years old. One of my all-time favorite songs is “I Wanna Be Your Lover,” and it came out in 1979. I know, right? Damn. I’m old. And now I’m living in a world with no Prince, and it feels wrong.

I just love Prince, and I’m so sad that he is gone.

Last year, while I was recovering from my mastectomy, my good buddy Katie came to visit me from Washington, DC. During her visit, she introduced me to a little game she likes to play. Every once in a while she would ask her, “I wonder what Prince is doing right now?” And the answer would always be something normal, but he’s doing it in a totally Prince way — so he’s watching a basketball game but he’s soaking in a tub filled with diamonds and pearls. I’ve played this mind game with myself I don’t know how many times in the past year.

I know that Prince was a human being, but he seemed so unreal, like he was a magical creature; a unicorn. The beautiful ones, they hurt you every time. I’m sure that a million people are writing stories about Prince that are way more eloquent and thoughtful, but I felt like I needed write something, because Prince and his music meant something to me.

Thank you, Prince. RIP, you sexy mother fucker.

princegif

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

One thought on “Prince

  1. Pingback: Bye 2016 | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

