The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Vacation days

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, last week The Boy’s preschool was closed so I took the week off from work so we could hang out and do a bunch of fun shit.

On the Fourth of July we went hiking through Glen Park Canyon. We have lived in Glen Park for five years, and we had never hiked through Glen Park Canyon. I don’t know what the fuck is wrong with us. Calvin and I actually did the hike the day before with good buddy Kate and her dog, Foxie. Then the next day, my mighty, mighty good man David, Calvin and I did the hike. We didn’t bring our dog, Homer, because he is an old man who sadly can’t even walk to our mailbox without needing a break.

IMG_6458

After our hike, we went home and barbecued with TCM on in the background. Calvin helped me bake a birthday cake for America. We didn’t bother dealing with the crowds to see fireworks at the Embarcadero, because – as is San Francisco’s way – there was a ton of fog. Luckily, our place is up a hill so we get a pretty nice view of fireworks (mostly illegal ones, I assume) happening all over the city – plus the ones in Oakland and Alameda. #humblebrag

IMG_6451

The next day, we drove to Concord to see family. You know, it’s actually summer in the East Bay. It’s in the 80s and 90s there, unlike here where it’s been in the 50s and 60s. True story.

San Francisco: It's July, and we're wearing sweaters.

San Francisco: It’s July, and we’re wearing sweaters.

The Boy and I spent the day feeding and chasing the ducks and geese at Willow Pass Park – mainly chasing them. Then we went to my parents’ house and they filled up Calvin’s little plastic pool.

IMG_6456

On Wednesday, I took Calvin to get a much-needed haircut. I really put it off as long as I could, because it’s always so emotionally draining. He cries and cries, and I try to distract him with videos on my phone, etc. I think I have even broken out into a song and dance number. The nice lady trying to cut his hair is like a ninja, dodging and weaving and cutting hair.

Anyway, it needed to happen, so without calling first and making an appointment, I drove to Laurel Heights to our regular haircutting spot. However, once we got there I discovered they had moved to Berkeley like a lot of other businesses in San Francisco that can’t afford the skyrocketing rents.

I walked into another nearby salon, and they recommended Prep, which was just a few blocks away. The nice receptionist told me that they usually require appointments, but today was my lucky day. The stylist got Calvin to sit in the chair and asked, “Would you like to watch Curious George on the iPad?”

WHHHHAAATTT?! That’s his favorite show ever.

He said yes, and he sat in the chair smiling while she cut his hair.

“After you’re finished, you can have a bag of popcorn,” she said.

WTF?!?! Popcorn is his favorite snack.

It’s like this place was made for Calvin, and for the first time ever, we had a stress-free haircut. It’s the best haircut he’s ever had. He looks so goddamn handsome, if I don’t say so myself.

IMG_6465

After his successful haircut, we went to the movies to see “Finding Dory.” He was really good. He sat through the entire movie, even though I could tell he was kinda bored for some of it. He was really into the third act, and I told the story (and reviewed the movie) on this week’s “Dorking Out” podcast. You should listen. I will share that my favorite part of the movie were the sea lions.

sealions

So, Calvin was pretty indifferent to “Finding Dory,” but now he is loving “Finding Nemo,” which is fine by me. It’s a wonderful movie.

seagulls

On Thursday, the weather is SF was still drab and cold, so we went to the Peek-A-Boo Factory in West Portal. I let The Boy run around like a crazy person until my parking meter ran out. He had such a good time that David brought him back there on Friday afternoon, so I could record the latest episode of “Dorking Out.”

My sister and her family went to Disneyland this past weekend, and she was nice enough to offer their house in Pleasant Hill to us for a little weekend adventure – a kind of free AirBnB. We spent the afternoon lounging in the backyard in a hammock, drinking beer while Calvin ran through the sprinklers.

IMG_6512

IMG_6519

In the evening, David’s mother came over, and we ordered Zachary’s Pizza. They have a vegan deep dish pizza that is THE BEST. And the next morning, we hung out on the patio and drank our morning coffee while our kid ran around the backyard. Backyards are awesome. We need to get one of those.

Calvin and I had such an awesome week together. I was so bummed to be back to work today, which was filled with Skype meeting after Skype meeting (boring!), and I was just missing him terribly. We hugged extra long at pickup this evening.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

