The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Dorking Out Episode 7: Suicide Squad, Summer Olympics and more

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, we review “Suicide Squad” in this week’s episode. Spoiler alert: I didn’t like it very much.

harley

I don’t want to repeat everything I said on the podcast, but there is something that I forgot to bring up. This movie made me love “Guardians Of The Galaxy” even more. It’s a similar setup: Criminals trying to save the world. “Suicide Squad” is darker in tone, of course. Also, it’s just lazy. There’s a lot of stuff at the end that’s like “Let’s save our friends,” and shit like that. Never in this movie do you feel like these people are friends. Those emotions are not earned, so it rings so false and lazy. In “Guardians Of The Galaxy” you really felt like they cared about each other. I also have a lot of thoughts and feelings about the character Harley Quinn and how the movie treats her relationship with The Joker.

Smith wrote a really interesting blog post based on the question “Are Movies Dying?” which leads to a really interesting discussion about the state of movies made for adults (not adult movies, you pervs), and the era of prestige television.

Oh, and we talk about the Summer Olympics, too. I love the Olympics, because it combines two things I love: It makes me feel ignorant about other countries, and it makes me feel bad about my body. Wheeee!

You should listen. It’s fun.

You can listen to it on our website, or you can find us on iTunes, Stitcher, and YouTube.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

