The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Little Runaway

12 Comments

Yeah, so, Toby ran away.

On Tuesday, I came home from work around 5:30 p.m., after hitting the store and picking up Calvin. I opened the front door, while juggling a few bags, my work laptop and my purse. After first, Toby was happy to see me. He was running around my ankles with his ears up, acting all happy. Then he bolted out the front door and down our two flights of stairs, and he was gone.

We ran out after him, but he was already out of sight. A neighbor said he saw Toby ran down the street toward busy Monterey Boulevard. Ugh! I ran down to Monterey screaming his name. David and Calvin took another block.

I ran back to the house, and we all hopped in the car. We drove to the nearby Sunnyside Conservatory. We just got Toby on Sunday, and during all the walks we’ve taken we’ve stopped at the Sunnyside Conservatory. He wasn’t there. We were asking everyone we saw. No luck.

Eventually, David and Calvin went back to the house, and I continued to drive around for two hours looking for him while sobbing uncontrollably. I truly lost my shit. I spoke with a lot of people, who were walking to or from the Glen Park Bart Station. I stopped every person I saw walking a dog to ask if they had seen Toby.

After two hours, I went home, feeling so sad. I was sobbing. “He must be so scared. It’s getting dark. He needs to take his heart medication. He doesn’t know how to find us.”

David went back out on foot to look for him, and I stayed home with Calvin. I made Calvin some dinner and got him in the bath. I left the front door open just in case by some miracle Toby came back. In a desperate attempt that it might help, I tweeted to Darth to please retweet Toby’s photo and details. He did, because he’s awesome. It must have been retweeted more than 100 times.

tweet

Then David called me. He spotted Toby at the Sunnyside Conservatory, but Toby ran away from him.  “I saw him. I’m on his trail. I’ll call you in a bit with an update.”

By now a bunch of Glen Park residents were trying to help David. They were pointing David in the right direction. Eventually, he tracked Toby near Glen Park Canyon, which is about a mile from our house. Toby ran out into the street, and almost got hit by a car right in front of David. Drivers pulled over and turned on their hazard lights. They tried to catch Toby, too.

David saw him again, but once again Toby ran away. He was just too fast. Eventually, it got so dark that finding him was getting too difficult, so David came home. Toby has a dog tag and he’s microchipped. We tried to remain positive that he would be found.

“I tried to find him for you,” he said.

“I thought he really liked it here,” I cried. “I guess he didn’t. Why did he run away?”

Then David put back on his hoodie and said, “I’m going to check the Conservatory one more time.”

He left, and I left the door open, just in case. I called good buddy Kate to tell her what happened, and then I heard a jingle – like a collar jingle.

I walked into the kitchen and Toby was standing there.

“OH MY GOD! HE’S HOME! HE CAME HOME!” I screamed, while slamming the door. “Kate, I have to call you back.”

I called David, and he rushed back.

We have no idea how he found his way home. He’s only lived with us since Sunday. We’ve only walked down Joost to Detroit and back, with a stop at the Conservatory. Toby was way down by Glen Park Canyon. He had to cross several busy streets in the dark to get back to our house, which is set back from the street and has two flights of stairs.

It’s a goddamn miracle that he found us. Toby isn’t all looks, you guys, he is obviously crazy smart, too.

David made a map of Toby’s approximate route, so you can see just how far he was away from our house.

map

We want to thank all the awesome, amazing Glen Park residents who took time out of their busy evening to try to help us track and catch Toby. Seriously, Glen Park people are the best people! We took Toby out for a walk on Wednesday, and several neighbors came out to say how happy they were that he came home. They also told us they’ve never seen a dog run so fast. And thank you to Darth, and all the folks on Twitter, who helped spread the word about our missing pup. And a very special thank you to my mighty, mighty good man David who ran all over Glen Park trying to catch Toby. Just another example of why I call him my mighty, mighty good man.

"Wake me when you're finished crying, Sonia."

“Wake me when you’re finished crying, Sonia.”

Maybe he is more bonded to us than we thought, or maybe while he was on the run we realized just how good he has it here. Or maybe he was just hungry. I have no idea how he found his way back, but I’m so glad he did.

Now, if you will excuse me, we have a baby gate to put up at the front door.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

12 thoughts on “Little Runaway

  1. Three cheers for David and Toby!

  2. Jack Russells are fast…and the can jump. 🙂

    Dogs have crazy good smell. He was just off on an adventure. He knows where his home is.

  3. Wow! So glad he returned home. He definitely knows where home is.

  4. I giggled when I got to the part where he came back all by himself. Dogs are smart and know more than we think!

  5. Holy crap I’m so glad he came back! Dogs have a crazy sense of smell. He probably knew where you were the whole time and was totally just being difficult. (I don’t know, maybe?)

  6. He’s so cute! I’ve never seen that mix before. Good boy, coming home on his own!

  7. Pingback: Six Things I’m Loving Right Now: Star Trek, Avon Nail Polish And More | The Sonia Show

  8. Pingback: Friday Cuteness | The Sonia Show

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

