The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Spirited Away

2 Comments

Yeah, so, this is my favorite time of the year … usually.

I’m all about the colder weather from October through December. I get to wear my tights, boots, and scarves with my cute dresses. I get to wear my hats. I love snuggling under blankets on the couch with my mighty, mighty good man David and my mighty good boy Calvin, and the pets. I love that there are holiday lights everywhere, and people are usually nicer and feeling festive. I love vegan gingerbread lattes, mulled wine, holiday beer and big bowls of homemade soup with warm, crusty bread. I love spending more time with friends and family. Really, the only thing missing for me is baseball and it would be perfect, and I’d never want it to end.

For me, this truly is the most wonderful time of the year. But I’m finding it so difficult to get into the holiday spirit this year.

scrooged-murray

Instead, I’m still sad and angry. I’m pissed that we have Rapey Dorito as our incoming president, and his list of scary clowns that he wants to appoint to important positions. including white supremacists. The list is a who’s who of who scares me.

Rapey Dorito’s pick for Attorney General fights for separate and unequal education for children with special needs. Seriously. WTF?! The countries most vulnerable citizens will suffer, because 61 million people in this country are dummies. (I know it’s not OK to stereotype, but come on – people who voted for Trump are dummies). My autistic Calvin will be lucky enough to attend school in San Francisco, which will always offer equal educational opportunities to him, but other children in this country will not be so lucky, and it fills me with rage. Don’t even get me started on the other awful people he’s picking for his cabinet. It just makes me what to never stop yelling and crying.

My outspokenness has alienated some folks on Facebook. A few “friends” have unfriended me, mainly some college and high school friends, but also my own brother. I guess seeing a pro-Rapey Dorito Facebook feed is more important than keeping tabs on what I’m doing and seeing photos of Calvin and my pets. His loss. My photos of the pets and Calvin are really cute. However, I wish he had just hid me, because I liked seeing his photos.

I am continuing my pledge to donate a little bit from each paycheck to organizations that fight for what’s right. This time, I donated to the Organization for Autism Research and Planned Parenthood. Maybe I should donate to one of these organizations in my brother’s name as a Christmas gift? That shouldn’t make Christmas awkward at all.

So anyway, I’m hoping that when we get our Christmas tree and hang up our holiday lights, and start watching all our holiday favorites, I’ll start feeling in a festive mood.

scrooged

How are you guys doing this holiday season? What do you do to get into the holiday spirit?

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

2 thoughts on “Spirited Away

  1. I flat-out “unfriended” some people in real life after the election. If you voted for a racist, misogynistic, xenophobic a**hole who makes fun of differently-abled people, I want nothing to do with you. AND I’m embarrassed I was ever friends with you in the first place. AHEM.

    And rage-donating is totally a thing. I heard that something like 30,000 people donated to Planned Parenthood in Mike Pence’s name.

    • I only had to unfriend one person; a cousin that wouldn’t stop tagging me in awful lies and sexist crap. I had to hide a few relatives, too. I suspect quite a few people have hid me, which is fine by me.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

