The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Hip-Hop, Soup Weather, Saddle Shoes And Other Things I’m Lovin’ Right Now

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, I’m feeling more festive these days, so I’m going to share with you another one of my patented 6 Things I’m Loving Right Now blog posts.

1. “Hip-Hop Evolution” on Netflix

This documentary series is about the history of hip-hop, and a perfect companion piece to Netflix’s “The Get Down,” which I also super love. It shows you how much “The Get Down” got right. I love old-school hip-hop, so this documentary series is my jam. Hip-hop originators  Grandmaster Flash, DJ Kool Herc and Afrika Bambaataa and more talk about the origins of hip-hop. Spoiler alert: Hip-hop was always political. It’s really good stuff. You should watch the series, and then download all the music. You’ll be happy you did.

2. Soup Weather

It’s soup weather, you guys! Awww yeah. Nothing makes me happier than making soup and then eating a huge bowl of it with warm crusty bread. It’s the fuckin’ best. And I don’t wanna brag, but I make really good soup. I’ve been making it a lot, and I think I’m getting good at it. I’ve got a few go-to recipes now from one of my three “Thug Kitchen” cookbooks, “Forks Over Knives” or “The Garden Of Vegan.”

frenchonionsoup

Vegan French Onion Soup from VegKitchen.com

cornbasilchowder

Corn basil chowder from Forks Over Knives

Potato leek soup from Thug Kitchen.

Potato leek soup from Thug Kitchen. This recipe is so easy.

creamybroccoli

Creamy broccoli soup with basil pea pesto from “Big Vegan Cookbook.”

3. My new saddle shoes

My new saddle shoes are my new favorite thing. They are so cute and comfortable. I got them from ModCloth (duh), and I think they make any outfit a little more fun.

saddleshoes

4. “13th” on Netflix

My mighty, mighty good man David was traveling for work last week, so I did what I always do – pour a glass of wine and watch super-depressing documentaries. This time I watched “13th,” which examines the role of race in this country’s criminal justice system. It’s really interesting and oh-so frustrating. It’s not like we need something to make us feel even more frustrated and angry these days, but it’s worth watching. I highly recommend it.

5. “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” by Regina Spektor from the “Kubo And The Two Strings” soundtrack

I am in love with this cover of George Harrison’s classic. My mighty, mighty good boy Calvin is watching “Kubo And The Two Strings” a lot, and this song plays over the credits. By the way, if you haven’t seen the movie, you should see it. It’s really, really great. It’s so beautiful with a story that is so original. More than a few times the movie surprised me, including the end. How often does an animated movie surprise you? Probably not very often. I mean, were you really surprised that “Angry Birds” was terrible?

6. “Uniquely Human: A Different Way Of Seeing Autism” by Barry M. Prizant

 

uniquelyhuman

I am only about halfway through the book, but it’s the best book I’ve read about autism. It’s not about eliminating autistic behavior, it’s about understanding it. It’s the first book I’ve read that makes me say, “Oh, that’s Calvin. Oh, that’s Calvin, too. Yep. He does that. I get it.” If you have an autistic person in your life, I can’t recommend this book enough.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

