The Sonia Show

Writer. Mocker. Beer drinker. Old movie watcher. Mother. Goober.

Dorking Out: #OscarsSoSerious

Leave a comment

Yeah, so, I have not one, not two, BUT THREE podcasts to tell you about this week, because I love listening to the sound of my own voice.

Smith and I talked about this morning’s Oscar nominations, including the snubs and surprises. We also ask the question, “Hey Oscars, why so serious?” You can listen riiight here #OscarsSoSerious

whysoserious

I realize that the Oscars are kinda silly. The movies they nominate are not necessarily the best movies of the year, and that’s because taste is subjective. What I think is the best movie of the year isn’t going to be what the Academy thinks is the best movie of the year. They kinda nominate the same Oscar-baity movies every year. HOWEVER, I still love the Oscars, because it is a night in which they celebrate movies, and I love movies. I have always loved the Oscars ever since I was a little kid. I used to have a ton of Oscar details memorized. You could ask me, “Sonia, what movie won the Oscar in 1986.” And I’d answer you and tell you all the other movies that were nominated that year. (“Out Of Africa” won, and “The Color Purple,” “Witness,” “Prizzi’s Honor” and “Kiss Of The Spider Woman” were all nominated, too.) I read Charles Matthews’ “Oscar A to Z,” a massive encyclopedia of Oscar stuff that came out in 1995. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately – I’m not sure) time has taken its toll on my super memory. I can usually make a pretty good guess about who won, but I can’t always remember the nominees anymore. Sigh.

Anyway, it was really fun to talk about the Oscar nominations. You should listen.

We also had our regularly scheduled Dorking Out, in which we reviewed “A Series Of Unfortunate Events,” and my mighty, mighty good man David joined us for the second segment, in which we review the just-finished season of “Sherlock.” We really hated it, so it’s an entertaining discussion.

And finally, I was on Assignment X’s Pop Show. I talked about participating in the Women’s March on Saturday (I will definitely be writing about that more here on the blog later this week). We also talked about “Superman Returns,” “Wonder Woman” and the possibility of new “Terminator” movies.

So, yeah, I think that’s plenty podcasting plugging … for now. Thanks for listening, you guys. And I’d be super grateful if you’d share the show with your people. We are going to be doing a big push to reach more people, and you can help. Please, and thank you.

Author: The Sonia Show

I'm a writer/mocker/goober/mother in San Francisco who likes to drink beer, shop, laugh and make other people laugh, podcast, watch old movies, feed my unhealthy obsession with pop culture, kick breast cancer's ass, wear orange and root for the San Francisco Giants, participate in general jackass-ery, talk about TV, eavesdrop on strangers' conversations, make nerdy “Star Wars” and “Simpsons” references, and post personal things about myself on the web for all to read, which makes me some sort of literary exhibitionist.

Leave a comment, you guys. It's fun!

